We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August at St Ives”
Review of Halwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halwell Lodge
Ranked #18 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The welcome this Irish/Cornish couple give you is as refershing as a cup of tea on a hot summers day. Peter and Eleanor make you feel at home,helpful,cheerfull and full of info as what to do,and to go and see,rooms,breakfast all very good,even Peters jokes,it was nice to stay with you and you put us up for another night when we were stuck so thank you very much,see you again David and Elspeth Scotland

Room Tip: take the garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 130 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

We would like to recommend Halwell Lodge to those who want to spend a relaxing time in the St. Ives area. Eleanor and Peter made us most welcome, our room was clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Our hosts were most attentive to our needs and a more than adequate breakfast gave us a good start to the day ahead. We would certainly stay there again.

Martin and Pauline - Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our first ever trip to Cornwall was a lovely one from start to finish, not least thanks to a very pleasant stay in the Halwell Lodge B&B in Lelant. Eleanor and Pete are genuinely nice friendly people who made us feel very welcome and comfortable as soon as we arrived, and helped with local knowledge of whatever we felt like doing each day. Everything was very clean, breakfast was generous, parking was ample and the mood was relaxed.

To avoid the challenge of driving through the small streets of St Ives, we recommend staying in Lelant as the train station is only 10 mins walk away with trains to St Ives every half-hour. Its easier to walk to Lelant Saltings station as the Lelant station is by request only ie you need to make yourself known to the conductor.

If you pop along to The Watermill for dinner in Lelant, ask for a table upstairs as this is away from the bar. In St Ives, save the Loft for dinner on the last night of your stay as it is a bit special and we felt it was the best meal we had during our stay.

Can't fault the Halwell Lodge - it is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great welcome and conversation, comfortable bed, good English breakfast. Chance to talk to the 3 or 4 other guests at breakfast. The hosts are a very friendly couple who are keen to assist in every way. The views from the bedroom were across an inlet, the garden is very well kept with a conservatory to admire the views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_KHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We made a last minute decision to go to cornwall for a long weekend and saw this hotel. it was a good choice as the hotel turned out to be a very friendly, comfortable place to stay.
The location was perfect , just outside st ives which can be a problem to park.
The station is just a five minute walk away and the ride in to st ives is very pretty,
The breakfast is nicely cooked with a good choice on offer.
The room we had was upstairs overlooking the lovely garden, and was very clean and tidy with a really comfortable bed.
There is a conservatory to just sit and relax, or if you feel more energetic it's a pleasant walk to the beach at porthkidney sands or the cliff path to st ives.
Thanks to Peter and Elaine ( and their two friendly dogs) we had a very good stay in Lelant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strawberryjam94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent two very comfortable and enjoyable nights at the Lodge in September.
The weather wasn't too kind to us but Eleanor and Peter made us feel at home and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.We had the room at the top of the house which had lovely views across the garden and surrounding countryside and was beautifully decorated and furnished.Each morning we came down to a fantastic breakfast cooked on the Aga - so delicious - though there were plenty of other things to choose from as well.We will certainly come back again when next we are visiting St Ives.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We are a family of five who stayed for two nights using two of the rooms at this outstanding Lodge. Eleanor and Peter were fantastic owners who made us feel really welcomed. The rooms were well decorated, spotless, comfortable and very spacious. We were offered a customised breakfast to meet our needs with plenty of choice and quantity. We found Peter very knowledgable about places to visit and we followed his recommendations which turned out to be beautiful places including the amazing open-air Minack Theatre constructed on the cliff face at Porthcurno. The location is perfect for visiting many of the nearby beaches and places of interest in this beautiful part of Cornwall.

Room Tip: All the rooms were to a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H-from-Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
966 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halwell Lodge

Address: Fore St, Lelant | Lelant, St Ives TR26 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $136 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halwell Lodge is a high quality Bed & Breakfast, situated in Lelant, just outside of St. Ives.We provide high quality, comfortable accommodation in a calm and relaxing setting, a great place to stay and a superb base for exploring St. Ives with its lovely beaches, harbour and narrow streets with its unique style of shops, galleries, pubs, and restaurants offering great food in great locations, Cornwall’s rugged coastline, famous gardens and spectacular countryside. We are within easy reach of the South West Coastal Path and the beautiful beach Porthkidney Sands is just a few minutes walk and here you can really enjoy peace and get away from it all.All of our en-suite bedrooms are well furnished and have comfortable beds, quality duvets, pillows and crisp white bed linen. All rooms have a flat screen TV, refreshment tray, hairdryer and glossy magazines ...and for winter breaks we have central heating.WI-FI Internet access is available.During your stay you are welcome to relax in the conservatory or our delightful garden which has a seating area.Afternoon teas and evening meals are available by request, also fresh ground coffee or tea and home made cake is available throughout the day in the conservatory. We can provide a packed lunch if required.There is plenty of on site parking available to all guests, we can also offer some secure parking and bike storage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Halwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halwell Lodge St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing