We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tate Gallery St. Ives

Tate Gallery St. Ives
Ranked #18 of 55 things to do in St Ives
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tate St Ives will be closed until Friday 31st March 2017. The refurbishment of the existing Tate St Ives building has proved more complex than anticipated. After careful consideration we have decided to continue the building work through the year and we will reopen the refurbished Tate St Ives in March 2017. We will continue work on the new galleries and building over the summer 2017. The fully completed new Tate St Ives, encompassing the existing building and the extension, will open in autumn 2017. The planned exhibition season for summer 2016, The Studio and The Sea will open to the public on Friday 31 March 2017.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Modern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Architecture of the museum stunning. You either like modern art or you don't. I found this more accessible than the stuff in the Tate Modern. but prefer more traditional forms of art. The Hepworth sculptures were very good. The café on the top floor has lovely views and is open even if you haven't bought a ticket. Certainly worth a cuppa there!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobertFGCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    210
    222
    207
    220
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a couple of hours well spent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

the tate is well worth a visit.if you are at all interested in art.although iam amazed what some people regard as art .a couple of paintings i saw.iam sure my grandsons exit on our fridge is much better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The building is the star here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The building is the attraction here, not the art really. The building provides great views throughout with the glass curved front giving wonderful reflections of the whole beach. The curved walk into the building seems to carefully designed with acoustics in mind; the sounds of the waves echoing throughout.
The artwork seems to take very much second place and looks a little sad and dated....
Shame the loos are not looked after.
Good, but expensive shop.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ggatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Informative staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Knowledgeable staff, beautiful surroundings, plenty of info, but parking let it down, and as a large establishment in the town, feel they should be part of the solution!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank greendoor36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretentious Ripoff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Knowing the excellent Tate Modern in London, we were expecting something similar in St Ives. Unfortunately, it turned out that for the £7 entry, you only get to see a very small collection of mediocre modern art that is poorly curated. Besides one or two nice things (e.g. the Giacometti), there seem to be mainly fillers that could as well stem from the tourist trap galleries around town (well, maybe they don't sell that many modern things, but they definitely share a certain amateurishness in their art). Often, the art is lacking context, and when a description is given, it is quite useless (e.g., one painting is described as being important, but no reason for the importance is given). I clearly would not visit again, the only positive thing is that not too much time was wasted in this visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank godfatherofpolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tate Gallery St. Ives also viewed

 

Been to Tate Gallery St. Ives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing