We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Katz whiskers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tate Gallery St. Ives

Tate Gallery St. Ives
Ranked #18 of 55 things to do in St Ives
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tate St Ives will be closed until Friday 31st March 2017. The refurbishment of the existing Tate St Ives building has proved more complex than anticipated. After careful consideration we have decided to continue the building work through the year and we will reopen the refurbished Tate St Ives in March 2017. We will continue work on the new galleries and building over the summer 2017. The fully completed new Tate St Ives, encompassing the existing building and the extension, will open in autumn 2017. The planned exhibition season for summer 2016, The Studio and The Sea will open to the public on Friday 31 March 2017.
Dun-le-Palestel, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Katz whiskers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Visited here in August when attending a wedding nearby. It was our first visit to Cornwall and although St Ives is very 'touristy' ( think Blackpool with Pasties instead of Rock), the Gallery is well worth a visit. When we visited there was an exhibition of the works of Alex Katz. The free guided explanatory tour added to our enjoyment and appreciation of the works. It's situated in a beautiful art deco building the small cafe is certainly worth visiting. It's a tranquil location on a busy holiday.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank WildeOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    210
    222
    207
    220
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waste of a Fantastic Building/Location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

What a disappointment.....this review may take longer to read than the time taken to view the exhibits! We were really looking forward to visiting the Tate in St Ives. Our small group consisted of my wife and I, my mother (in her seventies) and my sister and her son. We thought the Tate building was fabulous....a great piece of architecture. To our surprise the exhibition was arranged in only 5 small rooms (the size of large bedrooms) each with 10 or so 'exhibits'. These were very 'contemporary' in nature (concrete blocks, pictures made with bits of wire......forgive me, the 'art' was lost on us). There were staff manning each bedroom.....presumably to answer questions and protect the exhibits - no need in my opinion as the art was at no risk of being purloined! We may be Philistines but the best art was on display in the shop...post cards of coastal scenes in the impressionist style....wonderful. What a pity that none were on display in the gallery. I would strongly recommend that potential visitors save up their £6.50s and instead travel to Paris to see some amazing art in the Musee D'Orsay.

Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Beautiful building, gorgeous location, fantastic Art! I particularly loved the entrance, where the rolling waves are reflected on the huge glass windows. Perfect!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank GadaboutSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
199 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“What?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went on the day it closed for changing the exhilition so a trip (370 miles) wasted - we should have called before going!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Closed for re-hanging!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Planned to visit on a Sunday in September but theye were between exhibitions. So look out for changeover days in the small print - the Gallery closes except for the shop and cafe.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpaulbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tate Gallery St. Ives also viewed

 

Been to Tate Gallery St. Ives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing