We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice little café perched high over the bay”

Tate Gallery St. Ives
Ranked #25 of 58 things to do in St Ives
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tate St Ives will be closed until Friday 31st March 2017. The refurbishment of the existing Tate St Ives building has proved more complex than anticipated. After careful consideration we have decided to continue the building work through the year and we will reopen the refurbished Tate St Ives in March 2017. We will continue work on the new galleries and building over the summer 2017. The fully completed new Tate St Ives, encompassing the existing building and the extension, will open in autumn 2017. The planned exhibition season for summer 2016, The Studio and The Sea will open to the public on Friday 31 March 2017.
Chelmsford Essex
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a nice little café perched high over the bay”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Excellent sandwich, a table looking down on the town. Realised later that there's another area with a view of the sea around the end of the counter ...

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank EricAshley47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    242
    285
    267
    296
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fun spot”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Can't say it's a great museum but it was a fun, ironic show and worth the visit. Love the shape of the museum and, of course, the views are magnificient

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank R0shanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I was really looking forward to visiting - I knew there was a charge even though the (way larger Tate in London is free) but I was not expecting it to be so much. We were asked to sign off our tax which is usual - usually it gives some sort of benefit such as free return entry but no, here they want to charge you can extra £1.

Its an interesting building but not that great and from the outside its pretty ugly. The exhibition was dull and the atmosphere stuffy - the worst sort of elitist art show for snobs.

The Barbara Hepworth exhibition near by is way better - you can get a joint ticket with the Tate but I would'nt even waste that much money, just go to the Barbara Hepworth one and get the rest of your art looking at the sea and the sky.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Philpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice building, and great for a cup of coffee!”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I'm not an art buff, so the art was lost on me. But the building is amazing, and the views of Porthmeor Beach are great.

They have a great coffee shop at the top with fantastic views. Well worth a visit!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasmyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A 'MUST VISIT' WHEN IN ST. IVES”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

St.Ives has always been a center for Art and it is a tribute to the Town that The Tate has endorsed this by providing a superb presence with this fantastic galley.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RON-THOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tate Gallery St. Ives also viewed

 

Been to Tate Gallery St. Ives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing