We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay !”
Review of The Keep

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Keep
Ranked #7 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wark, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay !”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We returned to' The Keep 'for a second visit as the first was over too quickly ! Carol and Mike were as friendly as ever and welcomed us like old friends. We chose to stay in The Pilchard Press this time as it had already been booked on our last visit. It was another beautiful room with a very elegant four poster bed which was really comfortable with lovely egyptian cotton sheets and very high quality soap and shower gel.
Breakfast was gorgeous again, but like last time, it was difficult to choose as it all sounded delicious. I opted for Eggs benedict and my partner went for Fruit pancakes. What a great start to the day !
This B & B is a real find right in the heart of St Ives, very close to the beach and The Tate but really peaceful as it's hidden away. You must try and book a room here, if you can get one ! We are already planning our third visit !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
231
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had to wonderful nights at the keep, from the moment I emailed carol and mike they were fantastic, replying quickly, arranging parking and even arranging flowers and wine in our room, nothing was any trouble.

It really is a little oasis in a perfect location right in the heart of st ives and only a short stroll to the beach. Whilst it is only a short stroll to the central harbour stretch it is tucked away down a little alley and once inside it's so peaceful and calm. Carol and Mike have done a great job creating a unique B & B with a lovely luxury feel with fantastic eye for detail.

Breakfast was super and with the nice touch of a 'daily special'. This was great as after already staying in a couple of other hotels we had od'd on fried breakfasts!!

Overall I would totally recommend the Keep and hopefully some time in the future myself and my new wife will be able to visit Carol, Mike and the keep again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koln
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very warm welcome by Carol and husband. Extremely friendly Service. Nicely furnitured room. Comfortable bed.
Bath with a touch of luxury. All perfectly clean. Unbeaten breakfast experience with range of choices freshly prepared. Breakfast of the day one MUST try! Lots of recommendations by the owners on where to go and where to have dinner. The keep is just around the corner of surfing beach - perfectly for a sun downer...
If you plan to stay in St Yves for a couple of days : the Keep is a very good choice for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugawel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Whilst I only stayed for 1 night at The Keep, Carol and Mike couldn't have made me feel more welcome. The room (Pilchard Press) was simply beautiful, definitely one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in anywhere,and of 5* standard. The location is unrivaled, less than a minute's walk from the beach, and right in the centre of town, and the breakfast perfect. A wonderful little place, full of character and small little touches which really make a stay special. Would highly recommend to anyone considering a trip to St. Ives, and hope to make it back there myself one day soon...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_89c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Keep, Carole and Mike is fabulous hosts and we can only agree with all the previous positive comments. We received a very friendly welcome and with it being our honeymoon choclates and a card were also left in our room which was a nice touch.

The B&B is very well located in being a stone’s throw from the beach and one of the best restaurants (Porthmeor Beach Café), the town centre and easy access to the coastal path for stunning walks. The rooms are very well appointed and tastefully decorated in a North African style. The location in a small side street also means that the rooms are very quiet, this along with the very comfortable beds makes for an excellent nights sleep.

The breakfasts are superb with a choice of traditional English breakfast of a special the changes daily along with cereals and fruit salad. At the prices they are charging The Keep is excellent value for money, we have paid twice as much for rooms this good in the past.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt140973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent two nights in the Keep, and really enjoyed our time in the Pilchard Press room. Carol and Mike are very accommodating, and even sent me my phone charger in the post that I left in the room. Breakfast was delicious and the bed was very comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floydthebarber90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at The Keep last week and it was a wonderful choice of accommodation.
If all B&B's were like this we wouldn't stay in a hotel again.
The two rooms offered are of 5 star standard with beautiful designer bathrooms.
It is situated right in the centre of town and yet it is peaceful. Mike and Carol are wonderful hosts and serve up a delicious breakfast to keep you going well past lunchtime, their knowledge of local area and recommendations for restaurants were excellent.
We will be back to St Ives as its a beautiful place and will look no further than The Keep to stay in. A truly enjoyable stay.

Dave and Martha, Dublin

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
966 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
764 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: 6 Hicks Court, St Ives TR26 1HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KEEP B&B occupies a unique, central position tucked away in the heart of coastal St Ives, only a few yards from Porthmeor Beach and the Harbour, The Tate, and the town itself. With no passing traffic at all, THE KEEP, a recently converted 16th Century Pilchard factory, offers a rare sense of peace and quiet, although the many amenities, restaurants and coastal walks are right on our doorstep. We provide a tasteful and relaxing bolthole exclusively for one couple, with sole use of a comfortable dining/living room. Visit us for a romantic stay in the Pilchard Press room, with KS four poster bed, generous storage, large flat-screen TV and spacious drench-shower en-suite. Enjoy a delicious locally-sourced breakfast in what used to be the central, now glass topped, courtyard, then step outside and explore. (NB For two couples travelling together, or two singles wanting separate rooms, we can offer a second bedroom on request.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keep St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing