We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Cornish treasure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keep

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Keep
Ranked #7 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Cornish treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We came here for our first wedding anniversary after reading reviews on here and were not disappointed. It is ideally located in the centre of St Ives, only a minute from a beach and a couple more from the shops. The Keep is beautifully decorated to a very high standard and imaculate in every way.We stayed in the mermaid room, which was perfect. The owners are lovely, friendly people, who were more than happy to offer advice on where to eat, places to go. The breakfast is cooked to order and it is delicious, i must recommend the berry pancakes and maple syrup - truly divine.Although it is in the centre, it is hidden away nicely. We would definately go back to the keep, thank you for making our 1st anniversary one to remember.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
214
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I'm going to keep this short as this B&B is a beautiful hidden little gem in stunning St Ives. If you are looking for Luxury and to make your holiday that extra bit special then get booking at The Keep!
This B&B is a must and truly completes your holiday!!! It felt like a home from home and is lovely in every way with fab host....If you are reading this review then get BOOKING!!!! I'm sure that you will not find a B&B to this standard that is also Excellent value you for Money.

We would definitely return if we go back to St Ives :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just back from an excellent stay at the Keep in St Ives. It's centrally located - minutes from beaches, shops, galleries, restaurants etc - but tucked nicely out of the way down a passageway off a road linking a beach and one of the main shopping streets. This means that there's little of the noise (other than seagulls!) that you often get with centrally located hotels/B&Bs. It's about ten minutes walk from the railway station.

The room was clean, spacious, airy and modern. Breakfast was excellent, with a good number of options plus a daily special. There's a guest lounge with a larger TV/DVD player, a small fridge, and a dining table where breakfast is served. Carol and Mike are terrific hosts and very knowledgeable about the local area. It's worth noting that there are only two double bedrooms, so I'd recommend enquiring about vacancies as far in advance of your trip as possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a great B&B run by great people who really understand how to add the touches that make a stay away both private and personal. It is quiet and immaculately clean, and the bed (Pilchard Press) was deliciously comfy. Great shower, too. Fabulous breakfast - obviously high quality ingredients put together lovingly and thoughtfully. I would have been nice to have more natural light, but this is hardly something one can expect from what used to be a pilchard salting cellar! Great location as well - surely one of the best on that front, just around the corner from the Tate and the vista of Porthmeor beach and its great restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTorontoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

You really can't say anything bad about this B&B - The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated and well equipped. The Breakfast is absolutely delicious and you can choose between a wide range of varieties. The hosts, who live in the same house but in a separated area, are lovely and interesting people and always there to help you.

St. Ives itself is a beautiful town with much to offer, though it is really packed (at least in the summer). But you can always take a walk, short or long, escape the crowds and enjoy Cornwall's beautiful landscapes and coves (visit the beaches of Porthcurno if you have the time!). If you don't have a car you can get around by public transport rather well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c0m0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've been to St. Ives a fair few times (we try to go every year) and I always wonder if it could get any better. Well it did when we stayed at The Keep - a little hideaway, hidden away, somewhere in a hidden street. It is very central to St.Ives, It's right near the beach(es) which is ideal for me as a surfer but also close to the harbour area which has good restaraunts and pubs.

We stayed in The Pilchard Press room and were instantly amazed by how beautiful the room was and very well decorated/designed. It was extremely clean and comfortable - we cannot fault anything. Our hosts Carol & Mike are a lovely couple and very hospitable - and they make a delicious breakfast of which there are daily specials.

We even had the choice of a parking space in a garage which is very rare for a location so central to St.Ives - although we never used the car once.

We would recommend The Keep to anyone and will definitely be returning next year (as long as its not fully booked due to so many recommendations).

Big thanks to Carol & Mike - you have done excellent job in transforming the Pilchard Palace and Sail Loft into a beautiful place to stay. Shane & Louise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneM247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

As the popular nursery rhyme / riddle goes,
As I was going to St Ives / I met a man with seven wives / Every wife had seven sacks / Every sack had seven cats / Every cat had seven kits / Kits, cats, sacks, wives.
How many were going to St Ives? The answer is supposed to be 1...
When we went, many people were already in St Ives, but we met Carol and Mike, our charming hosts for 48 hours, although I could see Mike was a little cheesed off with all the tourists at this time of year... Unfortunately for all the hoteliers and townspeople it's a necessary evil...
The Keep like many others before me have rightly said that it's a two room B&B so you will have the place practically to yourselves. Bedroom very comfortable - bathroom exceptionally clean with a wonderful shower. You also have a communal area where there is a large screen TV, some games and a small fridge - if you have bought anything that needs chilling. The only downside as I have written on all my B&B reviews is the breakfast timetable... 09.15 is far too early, I do like a slightly later breakfast!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madrid_viajero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.6 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: 6 Hicks Court, St Ives TR26 1HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KEEP B&B occupies a unique, central position tucked away in the heart of coastal St Ives, only a few yards from Porthmeor Beach, The Tate, and the town itself. With no passing traffic at all, THE KEEP, a tasteful 16th Century Pilchard Press conversion, offers a rare sense of peace and quiet, although the amenities, restaurants and coastal walks are right on our doorstep. Our guests have a choice of just two individually designed bedrooms, each with spacious modern en suite drench showers, flat screen TVs, free high-speed WiFi, underfloor heating and King-size beds (one a romantic four poster). Enjoy a delicious locally-sourced breakfast in what used to be the central, now glass topped, courtyard, then step outside and explore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keep St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing