We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Friendly stay hidden away.”
Review of The Keep

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Keep
Ranked #7 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and Friendly stay hidden away.”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The Keep is a wonderful, peaceful and beautifully prsented B&B. On arrival we where welcomed like old friends by Carol and Mike who were so helpful throughout our stay.

The bedroom, bathroom, the common area are well presented and very comfortable and the freshly prepared breakfasts are amazing with new specials everyday.

With St Ives town right on your doorstep, with plenty to see, delicious places to eat, stunning coastal path walks and the beaches you can do as much or as little as you want.

I hope very much to return to St Ives and The Keep.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayewaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
229
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I had stayed for 5 nights in early December 2011. Very clean, quiet, modern room and in an excellent location near the centre of St Ives and Harbour down a quiet road/alley. Secure parking just next door. Breakfast was just perfect. Carol and Mike are the perfect hosts - very friendly, honest and made us feel at home. Would definitely return...

Room Tip: Choice of two rooms. Our room was just right. Didn't see the other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gubs1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This B&B in the heart of wonderful St Ives gets top rating here on Trip Advisor and having just spent a night there we can see why! The rooms have been superbly finished and tastefully decorated. If you like a good breakfast you will certainly get it here, loads of choice, top quality and served with a smile! Carol and Mike are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble and they make you feel oh so welcome. A perfect B&B tucked away in the centre of St Ives, we just wished we had the time to have spent a few more nights there. Never mind, I'm sure there will be a 'next time'!

Room Tip: Only two rooms. We had the 'Pilchard Press' with a four poster - a nice extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonHitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Spent a few days post wedding at this lush B&B..
Carol and Mike made us so so welcome right from the moment we walked in the door, and couldn't do enough for us.
Highly recommend 'the keep' as its beautifully tucked away, and yet so close to beach and restaurants. To top it off it has wonderful hosts & to-die-for breakfasts - a B&B to be proud of.
Definitely be visiting again.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dubsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The Keep was definitely the right choice for our stay at St. Ives. It was perfect. Carol and Mike, our hosts, gave us a warm welcome. They have been courteous and caring without being intrusive and made us feel home from the first minute. Thanks to their helpful insider tips regarding restaurants and places to go they had a good part in making St. Ives an unforgettable experience. A lovely couple!
The two bedrooms and the communal area are situated in the ground floor - separate from the rest of the house - and are modern and tastefully decorated. The interior of the rooms and especially the en-suite bathrooms are very comfortable and refurbished with high standards. Both rooms are wonderful, so the choice is difficult.
Situated less than a minute of walk from the beach or the shops/ great restaurants the Keep is at the heart of St. Ives and a great starting point to explore St. Ives.
We love a good breakfast and so we have been positively surprised. Mike and Carol had a variety of different breakfast types (english, continental, ...) with fruit salad and a dish of the day (eggs benedict, salmon omlette or blueberry pancake). Fantastic!
The house is not easy to find as our GPS was challenged by the one way streets but Mike gives you a great description how to find the Keep.
I hope I will have the chance to come back to St. Ives someday. And when I do I will definitely come back to The Keep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiebket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Keep is well tucked away but is actually barely a minute's walk from the harbour front, if you turn right, or Porthmeor Beach (and the Tate) if you turn left. Our room (the Mermaid room) was decorated and furnished really tastefully, as was the communal relaxing/breakfasting area between the two letting rooms. Amazing, spacious shower room with a fab shower. Delicious breakfast, including an essential part of a "full English" that's hardly ever found on B&B menus - black pudding! Our hosts, Mike and Carol, were great, with suggestions, advice and plenty of warm hospitality at every moment of our short stay. Thanks both!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLJ186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is truly a 5-star B&B with wonderful comfortable newly remodeled rooms and exquisite shower and bathroom facilities. Our hosts Mike and Carol were wonderful and even left us a special local chocolate bar as a congratulations on our anniversary. They are very knowledgeable about St. Ives and Cornwall and provided excellent advise to make the most out of our 2-day stay. Breakfast was wonderful and they offer a wide variety to choose from that you order the night before. They even arranged for private garage parking nearby which was very handy as parking in St. Ives can be challenging and Mike helped us find our way through the winding streets as our GPS rather gave up once we reached the town. The bed was very comfortable and the room was remodeled to show the history of the building which included a fish-press. We stayed in the larger Press room and it was great. The shower is wonderful and the bathroom included a towel-warmer. Don't forget to get some of Mike's postcards as he is a very talented photographer and has captured St. Ives in a great way. We loved this B&B and hope we get the opportunity to return someday.

Room Tip: Go for the larger room it is well worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
942 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: 6 Hicks Court, St Ives TR26 1HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KEEP B&B occupies a unique, central position tucked away in the heart of coastal St Ives, only a few yards from Porthmeor Beach and the Harbour, The Tate, and the town itself. With no passing traffic at all, THE KEEP, a recently converted 16th Century Pilchard factory, offers a rare sense of peace and quiet, although the many amenities, restaurants and coastal walks are right on our doorstep. We provide a tasteful and relaxing bolthole exclusively for one couple, with sole use of a comfortable dining/living room. Visit us for a romantic stay in the Pilchard Press room, with KS four poster bed, generous storage, large flat-screen TV and spacious drench-shower en-suite. Enjoy a delicious locally-sourced breakfast in what used to be the central, now glass topped, courtyard, then step outside and explore. (NB For two couples travelling together, or two singles wanting separate rooms, we can offer a second bedroom on request.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keep St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing