We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of Heart” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keep

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Keep
Ranked #7 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Full of Heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

This place is just wonderful! I booked a Cornish holiday for my parents visiting from Australia for a week and wished we had stayed here the entire time. My parents took one room and my partner and I the other and it honestly felt like our own little home in St Ives. Carol and Mike are lovely people, always ensuring we were comfortable and made the most delicious breakfasts - I will also throw my hat in the ring and say the pancakes are to die for!

They also had some great tips of places to visit and things to do in St Ives and as a result, we had a fantastic experience at a restaurant they recommended.

I would recommend this sweet little getaway, in the heart of St Ives, to absolutely anyone. My partner and I will definitely be back and I will recommend The Keep to any of my friends visiting Cornwall.

Thanks so much Mike and Carol!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
214
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Our second visit and Carol and Mike welcomed us back like friends rather than paying guests.
The rooms were immaculately clean and comfortable. The decor still makes us feel like we're in the lap of luxury.
Breakfasts set us up for the day ahead- we loved the pancakes with berries and Cornish clotted cream. What a treat! Mike told us all about how they had refined their lovely cooked breakfast.
Carol had amazingly remembered that I liked reading and told me about the St Ives Literary Festival taking place (went to one event).
Our sister from Scotland visiting with us was also very impressed and loved chatting to Carol.
To us it's a 5 star B and B and we will definitely be back in the autumn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teatowel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

This was my first visit to Cornwall and The Keep was the perfect base. Carol and Mike are the perfect hosts, there if you need anything but leave you to have your own space as well. The breakfasts were fantastic every day...even the legendary pancakes! The only disadvantage was the lack of parking nearby but this is a trait of St Ives rather than this particular b&b. We paid £30 for a weeks parking at the car park on the top of the hill and it was some trek uphill every day to get to the car. I loved Cornwall and we hope to return soon and will definitely be going back to The Keep when we do.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shona1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the Mermaid room. It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was beautiful - contempory and stylish with a great shower. The bed was comfy, Carol and Mike were warm and welcoming hosts and the breakfasts were good quality and tasty. Location is great...less than a minute from both the beach and the shops. We would definitely return and have already recommended it to family and friends!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Thanks, Carol and Mike.
You and your hints on places to go to or to eat at made our stay at your beautifully renovated B&B a very special one. The breakfasts are unforgettable, especially the pancakes. We have already recommended the Keep to lots of friends and will certainly come back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epaulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

From the moment that Carol emailed the confirmation of our stay, her warm personality shone through! The Keep is a beautifully renovated property in the heart of St Ives with rooms that are luxurious and sympathetically designed. We stayed for one night in the Pilchard Press and the room was comparable to any top class hotel I have stayed in. Carol and Mike couldn't have been more accommodating and welcomed us into their home. The breakfast was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful.

We were sorry to leave and hope to return very soon. Thanks Carol and Mike!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minty44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at this little B&B over the Easter long weekend. We stayed in the smaller of the two rooms on offer, but it was absolutely perfect. It was beautifully furnished and the location is perfect, right in the middle of town and a short stroll to anything you need in St Ives...
Carol and Mike are lovely, friendly people who made us feel right at home from the beginning and could have a good laugh with them.
The breakfasts were the icing on the cake! Pancakes were delicious.
For an amazing price, there is no better place to stay in St Ives

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shell_281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.6 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: 6 Hicks Court, St Ives TR26 1HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KEEP B&B occupies a unique, central position tucked away in the heart of coastal St Ives, only a few yards from Porthmeor Beach, The Tate, and the town itself. With no passing traffic at all, THE KEEP, a tasteful 16th Century Pilchard Press conversion, offers a rare sense of peace and quiet, although the amenities, restaurants and coastal walks are right on our doorstep. Our guests have a choice of just two individually designed bedrooms, each with spacious modern en suite drench showers, flat screen TVs, free high-speed WiFi, underfloor heating and King-size beds (one a romantic four poster). Enjoy a delicious locally-sourced breakfast in what used to be the central, now glass topped, courtyard, then step outside and explore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keep St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing