We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we have been to in St.Ives. 'FANTASTIC'”
Review of The Keep

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Keep
Ranked #7 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best B&B we have been to in St.Ives. 'FANTASTIC'”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

As we travelled by car, we parked in Barnoon car park, which is a 24hr stay and you can get another ticket when the time has run out. The owner greeted us and made us feel so welcome at the top of The Digey. Carol then showed us the way to 'The Keep' which was about 10 yards away. The first thing you see when you arrive is the beautiful oak door. When you go through the door the room is so peaceful and clean, and there was tea, coffee and water for us to drink when we needed it plus a few chocolates. (Thanks for that Carol). We stayed in the Mermaid Room room which was very clean. The bathroom was finished to a very high standard, as is the rest of the property. Shower is massive and it was like standing under a waterfall, and is very roomy in there. The bed was very comfortable and the decor was nice. The breakfast's were super, we had ... cereals, full english, fresh fruit chopped in a big bowl, homemade bread, homemade jam it was just yummy. Carol did a special breakfast if you did not want the full english such as, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Everyday the rooms were made up for you, and nothing was to much trouble. The location of the B&B is so near to the shops and the Harbour (no noise can be heard from the shops, pubs and crowds) just a short walk down the cobbled street called The Digey and your there. I have been going to St.Ives for most of my life, and have stayed in many B&Bs there. This one will be the only B&B I will stay in from now on in St.Ives, and it is well worth the money that you pay. The only downside for us is that you can't take children there (although nice to get a break) and we would be willing to stay there more often if that was to change in the future. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at The Keep.

Room Tip: Both rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wurzuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
224
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We cannot recommend The Keep highly enough. We were there the week before Easter on our honeymoon.
The rooms are as good as any top flight hotel and are stylish and homely at the same time. Anyone who loves to travel and treat them selves to lovely hotels will appreciate The Keep.
The hosts are amazing, Mike and Carol are friendly and helpful (they recommended the best places to eat). They are the type of people you would consider to be long time friends before you leave. If you are looking for some where to stay in St Ives then we recommend The Keep every time. .......... Oh the specials for breakfast are fantastic and worth a try.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_and_Mrs_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Beautifully renovated property, ideally situated within the town.
A huge amount of thought and effort has gone into creating this wonderful oasis.
The very best breakfast, fresh baked bread, homemade jams.
Comfy bed, crisp white linen, fab shower room.
Great hosts.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Unlike previous visit to St. Ives the only thing on our agenda this time around was relaxing! Having searched online for a suitable place to stay, including Hotels/B&B's stayed in previously, we came across the hidden gem that is The Keep. Located in the heart of town, The Keep is conveniently tucked away among the many enchanting lanes so characteristic of St. Ives, and is literally a stones throw away from Porthmeor beach. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the owners Mike and Carol, who were immediately accommodating, and took no time in recommending local places of interest and places to eat.
The accommodation itself was clean, modern and contemporary, and thanks to the thoughtfully arranged personal touches (artwork etc), The Keep really does promote a sense of home from home. The adjoining sitting room (shared with only 2 rooms) was an added bonus, as it provided the opportunity to relax and make use of the large wall mounted LCD TV & Blu Ray Player. Despite being situated in the middle of town there were no problems with noise at night, ensuring that a good night's sleep was had all round! In keeping with the standard set by the hosts the breakfast too was also something of a highlight. There is a large selection of options available from cooked breakfast, cereals, fresh fruit & natural yoghurt, continental, all complemented with home made bread and of course tea, coffee and fruit juice!
In short I would have no hesitation in recommending The Keep to friends, family and travelers alike, who thanks to the charm and hospitality of both Mike & Carol, will undoubtedly have a comfortable and relaxing stay. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisherben79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed here back in October and this is the only place I've stayed that has made me want to write a review
Carol and Mike have done amazing with this place!every detail says 5*

We stayed in the "Pilchard press" which was fantastic.The overall decor of the room really is lovely and the communal breakfast room is top drawer
Location wise it's lovely just being able to leave the front door and within mintues be right in the hub of things but without being noisy as it's very secluded tucked away down a little alley

Basically we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brucelisa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Knockout. Wonderful. Amazing. One could literally run out of superlatives trying to accurately reflect just how truly lovely this top-notch B&B is. Arriving at what first seems a modest and unassuming property at the top end of an alley off a narrow cobbled street, its not just the standard of decor, attention to detail, cleanliness or even the superb breakfasts that clinches it, in truth it has a great deal to do with the genuine warmth and friendliness of the excellent hosts, Mike & Carol. With The Keep you get much more than superb B&B accommodation in a stunning location from which to explore the very heart of this popular holiday destintation, you also get a welcome and continuing sense of warm hospitality that delivers a certain 'x' factor many similar establishments just can't quite replicate. It makes for a very special stay and one that lingers fondly in the memory long after the trip is over.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Perfectly situated, spitting distance from the beach, highstreet and art galleries. Very chilled out, nicely decorated and a great fry-up!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelly080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
909 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
921 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: 6 Hicks Court, St Ives TR26 1HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KEEP B&B occupies a unique, central position tucked away in the heart of coastal St Ives, only a few yards from Porthmeor Beach and the Harbour, The Tate, and the town itself. With no passing traffic at all, THE KEEP, a recently converted 16th Century Pilchard factory, offers a rare sense of peace and quiet, although the many amenities, restaurants and coastal walks are right on our doorstep. We provide a tasteful and relaxing bolthole exclusively for one couple, with sole use of a comfortable dining/living room. Visit us for a romantic stay in the Pilchard Press room, with KS four poster bed, generous storage, large flat-screen TV and spacious drench-shower en-suite. Enjoy a delicious locally-sourced breakfast in what used to be the central, now glass topped, courtyard, then step outside and explore. (NB For two couples travelling together, or two singles wanting separate rooms, we can offer a second bedroom on request.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keep St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing