We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Ranked #80 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here in April and found it that defied our expectations. We were originally a little dubious about the hotel being a Christian Guild property as both my partner and I are atheists, however the religious side of hotel was barely noticeable. The staff were really welcoming and the rooms clean and tidy. We booked a double room and actually have a double bed and a single for the same price so we were happy.

In terms of the location the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the beach. To get to the main beach of St Ives you simply need to walk down a nice and quiet path, although it does get very dark at night. The hotel has a car park which you require a pass to use, these are available free of charge from the reception desk. The reception has a mini tuck shop which is handy when you fancy a snack.

Overall we had a nice stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treloyhan_GM, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 255 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked Treloyhan Manor at the last minute for a two night stay in St Ives over the late May Bank Holiday weekend.

The hotel is a fifteen minute walk from the centre of St Ives. There is also access to a coastal path which gets you to a beach in about ten minutes, as well as the excellent Porthminster Beach Cafe (which will be the subject of a separate review - brilliant place to eat, so much more than a cafe!). There are also some stunning sea views from the grounds of the hotel and overall, it has a relaxed, peaceful and tranquil feel to it.

The staff at the hotel were helpful on arrival and remained so throughout our stay. The rooms are adequate and beds are certainly comfortable enough after a day hiking round Cornwall! There were plentiful stocks of tea, coffee etc. as you might expect. My only minor gripe was the lack of a shower facility in the en-suite and the fact that the bath took an age to fill up (but that is really only a small gripe).

There is a cafe which forms part of the hotel, which does cream teas, coffee, etc., - we certainly would have sampled if we'd have stayed for longer. They also provide breakfast which, again, we'd have taken advantage of given the opportunity.

We are thinking of going back to St Ives next summer for 7-10 days and would almost certainly stay at this hotel again. The big selling point for me is the location - you can easily walk to the centre of St Ives without being right in the heart of it for the whole of your stay.

I would be surprised if you can find a better value for money place to stay in St Ives than this. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivaledemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treloyhan_GM, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel, run by a Christian fellowship, is within a 10 minute walk of the lovely town of St Ives. The house stands in beautiful grounds, tended by staff of the hotel. The reception rooms have lovely proportions; a very comfortable lounge overlooking the gardens. There is no bar, but there is a coffee shop, and you can buy bottles of wine. There are no TVs in rooms, but there is a TV lounge. They only serve dinner if you have pre-ordered it, but there are a wealth of bars and restaurants all within walking distance. The rooms are well appointed - good bathroom with reasonable shower, ordinary sized double bed, but comfortable, a desk, and huge windows which you can open right up, with views across the gardens to the sea. The staff are extremely welcoming, and very efficient. The breakfasts are expensive, but there are plenty of alternatives in the locality. There is parking, a plus for this area. They advertise wi-fi, but, although you seem connected, you can't actually get on the internet with it, so take a dongle if you need to be online.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redcampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my apologies you could not get a good internet signal and this is surprising as we have just installed Superfast Broadband. We are currently having flat screen TV's fitted in all bedrooms and that scheme will be completed by the end of May. Regarding breakfast for our fully inclusive hot and cold buffet including tea, coffee and toast you will find our price of £7.50 per person hard to beat locally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a room only basis. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is superb. It was also incredible value at only £25 (a single room with a shared bathroom). The Christian ethos of the hotel I think helped make those staying very warm and friendly too. The sheets were crisp, the toiletries were generous and the room was clean.

The downsides for the hotel were for me a lack of the modern facilities you usually hope to find. There was no bar, no tvs in the bedrooms and a lack of working wifi. The walls were very thin which I found off-putting and the radiator in my room was not working and the wind was whipping through the badly fitting window (although the rest of the hotel was lovely and warm). I think this was simply unfortunate. However there were extra blankets in the room and I slept well.

All in all, it WAS very good value at the price, but I would probably rather find a little more cash and stay somewhere with better facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Archie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments, and I can let you know we now have Superfast Broadband in all areas, and Televisions are currently being installed and will be in all bedrooms by the end of May 2013. We do have six standards of room grades at the hotel from more basic to Premier sea view range and they are priced accordingly, hopefully we may have a Premier room available for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked late and obtained a fantastic deal, which suited our purpose perfectly. The hotel is set back off the main road down a beautiful private drive.
Our room was spotlessly clean, very adequate for our needs with an en-suite - shower pressure might have been better though - with comfortable beds. No TV in the room didn't matter neither did the non-availability of a bar.
The hotel offers plenty of sitting room space and has a TV lounge with large flat screen.
Breakfast was well cooked and nicely presented from a good menu.
It is a truly grand building with wide passageways and high ceilinged public rooms. The lawns and gardens are a delight and overlook the sea towards Hayle in the far distance. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms are at the back - still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normalguy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent location. Lovely walk down to the beach a bit of a steep climb on way back. Large rooms with equally large ensuite. Wifi although available throughout hotel didn't stay connected for more than 5 min at a time which was annoying. Didn't gave breakfast or meals at hotel. Plenty of parking! Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mizomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments and sorry to hear you had problems with our WiFi, we are installing superfast broadband in April which will improve our connectivity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lovely stay. Beautiful manor house, great room with fabulous bay window giving gorgeous view across the grounds and over to Carbis Bay. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Very good price (about half the price of others in the area!) All in all, couldn't ask for more. Perfect! Thanks Treloyhan Manor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muriel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
976 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treloyhan Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treloyhan Manor Hotel

Address: Treloyhan Manor Treloyhan PARK | St Ives, St Ives TR26 2AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $56 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treloyhan Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treloyhan Manor stands in a magnificent position overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, on the edge of the picturesque seaside town of St. Ives.Built in the 19th century for the shipping magnate Sir Edward Hain, Treloyhan has accommodation for 100 guests and occupies a location which makes it ideal for families.St. Ives itself, once a fishing village, has long been a haven for artists attracted by the clear light, the quaint narrow streets leading down to the sea, and the magnificent views.Major road improvements now make St. Ives more easily accessible. Whether you prefer to travel by car, train, coach or simply fly, we can assist you with your transportation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Treloyhan Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treloyhan Manor Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing