We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunny September in Carbis Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawke's Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawke's Point
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunny September in Carbis Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked to stay in Apartment 11, Hawkes Point (at the Sands) in Carbis Bay, wanting to be close enough to St Ives, but with a bit of space. The apartment is excellent, very well equipped (incl. a Nintendo Wii, which our 4 year old loved) and two great bedrooms and bath/shower rooms. Kitchen had everything you could need for a week / two weeks, and the secure parking a welcome difference from having to find somewhere in St Ives, as you can walk two minutes to Carbis Bay station for a 3 minute train journey into St Ives (which the kids loved). We were blessed with 6 out of 7 sunny beach filled days, but even if the weather was a little less pleasant, there is a lovely apartment to come back to for rest and relaxation. Would recommend to families and couples alike. The owner is also very responsive and helpful. We've stayed in a lot of places, this is our best self catering option to date.

Room Tip: We had apartment 11 in block C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ma_elvis_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
126
115
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here during a very sunny week in August. We chose this based on previous reviews and couldnt have been more pleased. Apartment 11 was perfect for us. It was beautifully equipped and was very comfortable. It was more than spacious enough for myself, my husband, my daughter and her boyfriend. The champagne and cream tea on arrival was much appreciated and I had taken advantage of the on line food delivery - it was heaven to have everything in the apartment on arrival. Charles was on hand to offer us lots of advice and the welcome booklet is full of useful information.

The apartment block was full but we were never disturbed by other holiday makers. Being conveniently situated, we hardly used the car at all. Carbis Bay Beach is a few minutes away as is the train station, (just a few minutes into St Ives or elsewhere) and the coastal path goes in both directions for those who enjoy a walk - be prepared though, the apartments are halfway up a very steep hill. We certainly felt fitter after walking around for a week!

All in all, a fabulous holiday. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Check the on line room layouts to if you want to make sure of a balcony big enough to seat all occup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Whilst agreeing with other contributers about the Hawkes Point Apartments, we did feel that the position of our own apartment (19) which was next to a busy road did make it noisy. We chose this particular apartment as it was described as ideal for honeymooners or couples seeking a private location. As the balcony ( which does offer lovely sea views) is situated very close to the pavement and road, it did rather feel like we were sitting in a goldfish bowl at times, with traffic and pedestrians making their way to and from the Carbis Bay beach staring up at us.. The apartment block is situated on a steep hill and so the cars had to accelerate hard in order to climb the hill. Sadly this meant we were unable to use the balcony as we had wanted. However even inside the apartment with the balcony door and windows open ( too hot to leave shut) the noise was intrusive. Although we were not troubled by any traffic at night! I am surprised that this has not been previously mentioned. (Unless of course you are used to noisy traffic) The apartment is very well equipped and very comfortable inside, tastefully furnished and decorated. It is a short walk to the Carbis Bay train station which takes just a few minutes to St.Ives. However it is a very steep walk up the hill from the beach! The information given re trips, restaurants, and places of interest was very useful as was the information given prior to departing from the owner Charles who we found most helpful. The Camel Champagne, and cream tea on our arrival was delicious. We also used the food for your holiday website that was recommended, and had delicious local produce delivered and unpacked for us, on the day of our arrival.I feel a bit like the unwanted guest at the party for the negative comments but for the price we paid I would have preferred a quieter location.

Room Tip: Apartment 19 is close to a busy road (in the summer) and can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mum1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have just spent our two week summer holiday at Hawke's Point, and agree with the glowing reviews that preceed this one. We had Penthouse 23, and it is very high spec and has beautiful views across to St Ives harbour. The beds are very comfortable and we have slept really well. I was slightly concerned before we set off that there would be noise from the train line and station, but there isn't any at all, even with the balcony doors open. Yes, it is pricey (in the summer holidays), but I would heartily recommend it all the same.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmslowWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have just returned from our fourth visit to Hawke's Point and it just gets better every time. I am blessed (?!) with an exceptionally fussy husband so you can imagine my relief at finding a holiday destination to meet his exacting standards. The apartments are beautiful (we normally use no. 7) and the owner, Charles, is endlessly patient and helpful. After a day on the delightful beach at Carbis Bay we can stroll back to Hawke's Point to freshen up in luxury then take the 2 minute train ride, much to the kids' delight, into St Ives for dinner. The perfect family holiday for true relaxation...what are you waiting for?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186361Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Spring bank holiday 2012 will not be memorable for the Diamond Jubilee, but for our stay at Hawke's Point. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at No 7 and thought the apartment was wonderful. It looked exceptional on the website and I did fear it would not measure up in reality, but I'm delighted to say it was just as lovely. So many nice touches and great attention to detail. I hope we have the chance to visit again and would happily recommend it to anyone seeking a quality destination in a great location.

Room Tip: No. 7 had the advantage of the sea facing terrace with a superb view plus a courtyard terrace access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gezellig54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Beautiful large penthouse apartment finished perfectly. We were greated by beautiful fresh flowers and a welcome hamper of champagne and cream teas....the first of many while staying in cornwall. The apartment has a large balcony which fits the whole family for meals, with the most amazing views looking over st Ives. The board games, wii and DVDs were good for the English rainy evenings we had. You can't help but have the best nights sleep while staying at hawks point thanks to the beds.
The apartment is only a 5 min walk away from carbis bay beach and a lovely 20 min stroll along the coastal path to st Ives. If you don't fancy the walk the train station is on route to the beach...you will never have a train ride with a better view.
We return to Cornwall every year and always stay at hawks point :)

Room Tip: We have stayed in a variety of rooms at hawks point and they are all lovely however the penthouse wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.0 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawke's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawke's Point

Property: Hawke's Point
Address: The Sands, Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Hawke's Point 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hawke`s Point Hotel St Ives
Hawke's Point St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing