We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Union - St.Ives”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Union Inn

The Union Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Union Inn
Ranked #48 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
lancashire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The Union - St.Ives”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We go to St.Ives every year and the first place we go is the Union. Somehow or other our feet just know the way and make us go inside. The atmosphere is pleasant and we have always found the staff friendly. The food is good value especially the special with the meal and wine.
Only one occassion the meal wasnt very good and when the barman asked if all was ok (as we had left quite a lot) we told him it wasnt as good as usual. We were very very surpised when he returned our money, with an apology. The tall dark haired bloke behind the bar (sorry I dont know his name) is really friendly and remembers our orders. Cant wait till next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had no cash, so they agreed to set up a 'tab' on receipt of my credit card.

After I paid the bill, I realised an error had been made by them, and questioned the total. The error was not explained, I was refunded the money overpaid, and no apology was given.

I was made to feel as though it was my fault for not paying round by round.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We went to this pub with our two children to have a meal as it looked nice. We ordered garlic bread to start and then our main meal. After 30 minutes of waiting for our garlic bread to come out we asked the girl who took our order how long it would take. After 50 minutes of waiting my husband asked her again as there were people that came in after us and had their main meal we just wanted our starters as our we were all very hungry. She was really rude to us and cancelled our meal! By then this was 9.30pm and we couldn't find anywhere else to eat as all the pubs had stopped serving food. We ate in the Lighthouse the next day and it was a really good meal and came out in 25 minutes! The staff were really friendly. It marred our evening going to the Union and certainly won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeautifulBriards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were staying in St Ives for a short break and had walked past the pub while shopping in the main street. We saw the boards outside advertising various meals and what caught our eye was the meal for 2 of an 8oz cornish ribeye steak with a choice of 2 deserts - choc pud + cream or ice cream, + a bottle of white, red or rose wine, all for £24.95.
We decided to go back early evening and decided on the rose - the best choice according to the very helpful and pleasant barman!
The pub has interesting decor and a good atmosphere. Also liked the music being played.
The rose wine was nice although a bit sweet for my wife. The pub was busy and we managed to drink at least a glass before the meal arrived.
Our meals were a good size, well presented and hot.
The food went down well, along with more wine and it was a great anniversary meal.
For desert we went for 1 of each on offer. Overall it was a great meal which we both enjoyed and felt we had a really good deal.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Been coming here now a for a few years and have always enjoyed it.I just like the bar and the way its all set out and very clean.The price of drinks are about the same as the rest of town,but always a good pint served by mature friendly staff,not young kids like a lot of the local pubs who really dont want to be there.The food is better than most everywhere else in St Ives,at a fraction of the price and more of it.The other night we had the set steak meal for two,with sweets and a bottle of red £22 !
I really cant fault it,and im sure you will agree if you pop in one night,bet you will return like i do.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mediterraneanmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We went here for dinner one evening and the food was excellent value for money - we had two steaks, two chocolate puddings and a bottle of wine for £22!!! The food was hot, cooked very well and the service was excellent.
They played great music and the atmosphere was very relaxed!!
You must visit here if you go to St Ives!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YazzieMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We were greeted by friendly staff and a nice atmosphere. We ordered food and the menu was varied and really good value for money! Two ribeye steaks with all the trimmings, chocolate homemade pudding with cream and a bottle of wine all for £22! Bargain! The music was a really good choice and staff couldn't do enough! Will definitely return whe we visit next!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCW1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.4 mi away
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#2 of 4 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bramble Corner
Bramble Corner
#1 of 1 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Old Ferry Boat Inn
Old Ferry Boat Inn
#1 of 1 in Holywell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Inn

Property: The Union Inn
Address: Forest Street, St Ives, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Union Inn St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing