We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““AVOID AVOID AVOID - Worst food and even more dire service””

Becks Fish and Chips
Ranked #10 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Becks has expanded into a restaurant with bar and lounge area to complement the still thriving take-away. The restaurant area itself seats over 100 people. Becks does not take reservations, although notification of parties over 9 people is recommended. The main selling point and one of the major credentials is that Becks offer gluten free options. All types of fish (Cod, Haddock, Hake, Plaice), scampi and pizzas are available with this option. For customers choosing to sit in the restaurant there is also a range of desserts on offer that are gluten free. Becks is the only fish and chip shop in a 6 mile radius that offer gluten free products.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
““AVOID AVOID AVOID - Worst food and even more dire service””
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Spend week in st ives and one day we stop for cod and fish at the Becks and it was My worst fish & chips in my life!
Fish no good, too much fat and water same chips fat and wet!
not recommended at all!
Very very poor

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Djzygi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    106
    30
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St.Ives
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Went here for a meal with friends & family, had a bit of a wait because it was a Saturday & the bar area was packed. The wait was well worth it as this was some of the best fish I have ever had, the cod was hanging over both ends of the plate. I also had gluten free batter just to taste it & it was really nice. My brother in law was also very impressed with his meal & took a photo to send to a friend back home to make him jealous. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes a good value for money meal, bring a big appetite with you, you'll need it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank maggot6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips around”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have known the owners of Beck's for years and always visit when we come to Cornwall. The restaurant has been really well refurbished and the quality of the food and service is as high as ever. The last time we visited (June), we found the fish to be excellent, with light and crisp batter; the chips were freshly cooked and not at all stodgy - though the portions are generous, you do not end up feeling over-full, just comfortably so!
Beck's continues to be consistently used by local people as well as visitors to the area and is well worth a trip out from St. Ives or the surrounding area. There is good variety and choice on the menu, with children's meals and very good desserts! Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great surroundings, very pleasant staff and really smart place.The mushy peas were not as mushy as we expected and the chips were not normal 'chippy' chips, but the fish was absolutely excellent and all-round it was a superb meal :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank atmatt_game
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We always visit Becks Fish Restaurant when down St Ives way as they serve the best fish & chips in the area. The restaurant has recently been refurbished and the staff are really nice. A lot of local people eat there regularly which says something about the quality of the food !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Woktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becks Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Becks Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing