We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“becks is always a treat.”

Becks Fish and Chips
Ranked #12 of 146 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Becks has expanded into a restaurant with bar and lounge area to complement the still thriving take-away. The restaurant area itself seats over 100 people. Becks does not take reservations, although notification of parties over 9 people is recommended. The main selling point and one of the major credentials is that Becks offer gluten free options. All types of fish (Cod, Haddock, Hake, Plaice), scampi and pizzas are available with this option. For customers choosing to sit in the restaurant there is also a range of desserts on offer that are gluten free. Becks is the only fish and chip shop in a 6 mile radius that offer gluten free products.
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“becks is always a treat.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

we have b een going to becks for 12 years. it is really really the best between here and lincolnshire ( which has two equally good chippys in boston and spalding)

cornish staff, fresh fish, super fresh cooking. they are absolutely the best. rick stein agrees

the st.ives fishermen go here for their parties, thats really saying something.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank LINDA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    110
    32
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very overrated.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We really looked forward to having Becks fish & chips to start our holiday in St Ives, after reading many good reviews we were disappointed with what we got. Chips were greasy and clumped together and the fishcake was mostly potato with next to no fish. Also,having to shout your order as you walk in just to repeat the order again a few minutes later was a bit weird. Not a patch on Harbour Fish & Chips in the centre of St Ives. Maybe we went on an off day but we wont be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KGryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royton
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Overrated chippy”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Just arrived in Carbis Bay for our holiday and after a long drive we didn't want to cook so decided to go to Becks for a chippy as we had passed it on the way in. We walked in the take away and had a quick browse of the choices and I decided to have cod, chips, curry and mushy peas and my husband had haddock (which has the skin on one side) and chips. After choosing we were asked what we wanted as everything was cooked to order, this is where their problems start, 1 lady asks everybody what they want to order as soon as they walk in and then shouts it to the fryers. There was another customer at the counter that was having problems as they had asked him 3 times what he was having and still missed off 2 portions of fish and chips so he had to pay for those and then wait a little longer, in the end he walked out and left his son to get the order. The chippy started to get busy and nobody knew what anybody was having or doing, it looked chaotic and was stressful to watch as another girl takes your money and someone different gives you your food asking you again what you have ordered. My food was wrapped, then they realised the haddock wasn't ready so my food had to go on top of the counter to keep warm, the haddock wasn't ready in time because they had decided to serve 2 of their locals with their food (one of these included haddock) before us even though they had come in after us. We payed around £17 which we thought was quite expensive for fish & chips, we found the fish to be over cooked and dry and the chips, well they were just normal average chips, not the best but not the worst, my curry & peas were lovely though.

Helpful?
13 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Were we invisible?”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Arrived at 7.30 put name in book, ordered a round of drinks (for 5) & waited & waited & waited.
After almost 1 hour i checked 'the book' only to find my name had been crossed off.
A woman, who i can only assume was the manageress, was adamant that she had called my name several times, which is rather odd considering our seated position not more than a few feet
from the bar on which the book sat.
Having been shown to our table & ordered our meal it took at least half an hour for it to arrive.
Whilst those who ordered the standard fish & chips were well happy, my wife & i made the mistake in going for the 'scampi' which was clearly of the deep frozen variety.
The girls in our party had to wait an age for their ice cream & when it came time to leave we
had to go in search for a member of staff so as to be able to pay.
All in all it was a strange evening and not one i would look to repeat
Had we been at all dishonest it would have been all too easy to have left without paying,
needless to say, no tip given.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank spinadisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips and even Gluten Free”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Can thoroughly recommend Becks Fish and Chips. My wife and I had the gluten free fish and it was excellent, the best we have ever tasted. The batter was light and crispy and the cod tasted lovely. They even prepared me a gluten free banana fritter. Staff were very friendly and the decor gives it character.

Helpful?
9 Thank Pembrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becks Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Becks Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing