We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, professional and good value”
Review of Chy Morvah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy Morvah
Ranked #60 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Now in their 2nd year, the Manager Jamie and his wife Jen, have made some improvements: there's a very pleasant wooden deck outside with chairs and tables, looking onto the pool. Rooms now have TV. There is also the possibility to attend a performance at the Minack Theatre, built out of the cliff and looking over the sea. Organised by the hotel, the price includes transport, good seats, and enormous fleece blankets to keep you warm. Even on a chilly, windy evening, it was amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soobie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Chy Morvah
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 64 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

We went on an HF Holiday to the Chy Morvah house in St Ives. The views were extraordinary, the guided walks excellent, and the food was suburb. If you want to be treated like reality, taking an all inclusive HF Holiday is the way to go . This is our third HF Holiday, ST Ives does have great coastal walks and the house is wonderful. The staff was so attentive to our needs and the dinners (and breakfast and lunch) were 5 stars!

Room Tip: Any HF Holiday is wonderful
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALO2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

was fantastic hotel really relaxed and comfortable Jamie made us feel so welcome and even though we only stayed one night for a short break it was perfect! friendly staff in the dining room and nothing felt like too much trouble lovely atmosphere

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph_p319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The BB is in a good location less then 10 min walk from the city centre.The staff was really friendly,hospitable and helpful.good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo_F65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I've stayed at several other HF properties and whether the regime here are responsible for my disappointment or whether HF is changing, I'm not sure. Certainly a lot more skimping is, in my opinion, evident particularly on meals and their portions, bar measures (especially who is pouring) and complimentary bathroom sundries (one sachet of shampoo/week). Eating is as usual on large circular tables, but now with no lazy Susan in the middle. No tureen of soup is now presented, but now a meagre half (small) bowl. The shared dishes of vegetables arrive with warnings of being very hot, but now no means of passing them around the table without burning your hands, this does seem a bit pointless. I still have all my teeth, but I couldn't chew through a brandy snap presented as one of the puddings, indeed cultery couldn't handle it either, I returned it. Most meals though were OK, but sometimes getting a second jug of water proved impossible. I have no complaints though against the walking leaders, all did as you'd expect, although none could explain why back markers are no longer required. This I believe is a retrospective step and something I've never seem before in any other group that I've walked with. To save money the last day is no longer full board, as all the rest are, you have to pay for a lunch if you want one. My room, in the annex, didn't see a hoover every day either but it was a twin room that was a good size for one person. The fire doors seemed to have a dampeneing device to stop them slamming loudly, but the room doors didn't have this facility. I found it difficult (3rd pass) to find where I should park my car. There is adequate parking spaces if you keep within the lines, which challenged some people and double parking might be necessary.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, HF Holidays Ltd at Chy Morvah, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.
Sarah – Research & Quality Manager
HF Holidays Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We struggled to find this hotel despite visiting St Ives before. The signage (or lack of it) needs some attention.

The room was quite small, and the bathroom was not particularly clean or well kept. I left a towel on the floor (I had got some dirty sand on it and it would not come off) but it was not replaced, simply hidden under the other towels (also not replaced).

We were in the attic room with 5 flights of stairs - and the bannister on the stairs was loose. There is also a cat that seems to live on site, which is free to wander in and out of the rooms as it chooses as the front door is left wide open.

Breakfast - the continental breakfast was disappointing - tinned fruit, cereal and toast. There was also no choice of white, brown or a mixture of toast, it was just put in front of you. However the staff were very friendly and pleasant.

The hotel is owned by a walking tours company, and seems to offer B & B 'on the side.' As B & B non walking guests we did feel as though we were put into the building next door (part of the hotel) because it was of a poorer standard, as we were not walkers. The other guests in the separate building were also all B & B non walking tour guests.

The main building was pleasant. We opted not to eat evening meals in the hotel although we were asked every morning if we wanted to.

The hotel is very close to town, and whilst the location is fantastic, for the same money my husband paid there is another B & B a little further walk away that we have been to before and would rather go to than stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, HF Holidays Ltd at Chy Morvah, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.
Sarah – Research & Quality Manager
HF Holidays Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

If you book through a hotel booking site, you should know that nearly all your fellow guests will be staying there to go out on guided walks. The atmosphere is informal, and you are expected to join other people in the dining room. And don't be surprised if one of the walking leaders tries to get you into a walking group!
Having said that, I took a group of French-speaking Swiss walkers there in April 2011, and we had a terrific time. Jamie, the very friendly Manager, is always available. The rooms were excellent, as was the food - more than impressed the francophone guests. The leaders usually organise an (optional) activity in the evening (quiz, picture game, etc), that draws everyone together.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soobie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 20 in St Ives
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 20 in St Ives
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carlill
Carlill
#42 of 102 in St Ives
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy Morvah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy Morvah

Address: Bishops Rd | The Belyars, St Ives TR26 2DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $130 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chy Morvah 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular harbour town of St Ives has plenty to enjoy. Explore the bustling harbour, wander through the narrow streets visiting artists' galleries, or enjoy the town's excellent beaches. St Ives is a great base from which to explore the rest of Cornwall. Your stay could include walks along the stunning coastal path, enjoying the beautiful beaches, or visiting world-class attractions such at the Eden Project or St Michael's Mount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chy Morvah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy Morvah Hotel St Ives
Chy Morvah St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing