We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new experience in tapas”

Porthmeor Beach Cafe
Ranked #8 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Porthmeor Beach Café Bar is open daily from Easter to November and serving food from 9:00am to 9:30pm. With Australian chef Cameron Jennings at the helm, breakfasts are renowned and our tapas menu has an acclaimed reputation. Full drinks license so come and sip champagne on our terrace and watch the sun go down.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A new experience in tapas”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Went here for lunch and were amazed at the versatility of the tapas menu - some brilliant combinations beautifully cooked and presented. Followed by a shared lemon meringue which was as close to my memory of the real lemon meringue of my childhood as I can remember

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,407
    390
    70
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Truly One of St Ives' Best Assets”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Any time of day, whether you're up bright and early for breakfast, relaxing over lunch or having dinner for a special occasion, Porthmeor Cafe has it all. I have visited for breakfast, lunch and dinner where all 3 are absolutely faultless. Their relaxed and no frills service gives the customer a sense that the staff actually enjoy being there and enjoy serving the exquisite food. The tapas is a joy to behold, with every element being cooked to perfection and a wide variety of vegetarian and gluten free options being available. Even if the weather is bad, the view is still the best in St Ives as Porthmeor is beautiful rain or shine.

If you like amazing food, excellent service and a relaxed, cool and modern atmosphere then this place is perfect for you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HNKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh, flavoursome, unfussy, extremely memorable for all the right reasons”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We ate lunch and dinner at the cafe over various days and each time the experience was fantastic. The Tapas with an Asia Pacific influence was to die for, particularly the monkfish and the veggie dishes. The wine selection is varied but not over bearing or over complicated and the coffee is delicious (origin I think?).

Couple this will friendly, informal, relaxed waiting staff and a view to die for and I can think of nowhere better to while away hours whilst in St Ives.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MWCOD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Sunny beach tapas paradise”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were in St Ives over the Easter break and had a tapas lunch/drinks here and Saturday night dinner. In our opinion this is one of the best places in the St.Ives area. Fantastic views as its right on the light sandy beach. It was extremely busy and our hats go off to the staff who remained calm, pleasant, smiley & helpful whilst under extreme busy pressure probably all day long! Well done I'm sure you a real credit to the owners! The tapas dishes are really wonderful, what an excellent idea, more places should do the exact same! The mackerel with burnt lemon was a favourite as was the prawn curry, the flavours were outstandingly good, everything we ate and drank was wonderful. Would love to return again and again, would have rated it excellent but when I was in the wash room washing my hands a member of staff came out of the toilet cubical and rushed off and out not washing her hands. Luckily we'd eaten by then and had a couple of glasses of wine!! The beach cafe/takeaway downstairs directly on the beach looked really good too, again very busy serving excellent beach foods, baguettes, good coffee, ice-creams etc, didn't have the opportunity to try it but will make a bee line for it next time if we are having a few hours on the beach. p.s you'll need to book!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DirecttheSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location, amazing food!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

You're spoilt for choice with places to eat out in St.Ives but this one is a 100% must visit! Stunning location right on the beach front, your basically sat in a conservatory so where ever you sit you can enjoy the amazing views. I loved the relaxed informal feeling of the place, simple decor with plastic brightly coloured beach buckets holding the cutlery! The menu consists of a large Tapas selection and then a supper menu with selection of main courses. I LOVE tapas so selected 3 dishes as a starter to share. Each dish was superb- beautifully presented nice size portions and tasted incredible! The arancini balls my fav! I then had the grilled hake- so fresh and clean just perfect! It was a lovely experience and i cannot wait to go back next year!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porthmeor Beach Cafe also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Porthmeor Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing