We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A super breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porthmeor Cafe

Porthmeor Cafe
Ranked #8 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Porthmeor Beach Café Bar is open daily from Easter to November and serving food from 9:00am to 9:30pm. With Australian chef Cameron Jennings at the helm, breakfasts are renowned and our tapas menu has an acclaimed reputation. Full drinks license so come and sip champagne on our terrace and watch the sun go down.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A super breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have been here many times over the years but just for drinks. This time we opted for breakfast, great offering, we opted for pancakes and omelette,moth were tasty, well made and nicely presented. Great service and fab views. Most definitely worth visiting (more than once)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carl563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,344
    370
    65
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We usually stay and eat on the other side of St Ives, but sought out the Porthmeor Cafe on the strength of enthusiastic reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed - although busy on the night we booked, they offered to squeeze three of us on a table for two. Once there, we had the table for the evening and enjoyed watching the sun set over the beach. My sister and I shared some tapas dishes - all fantastic - and my husband enjoyed the red Thai prawn curry. The prawns were maybe the best I've had anywhere ... All the staff were friendly and attentive. We will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Land0Lakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This cafe/restaurant is situated in front of Porthmeor beach in St Ives, steps away from the Tate Gallery. It is the perfect place to have breakfast, lunch, dinner or just drinks overlooking the wonderful beach. During the day the surfers is the main attraction and in the evening you can watch the sun going down creating beautiful colors in the water. During our stay this beach was the best spot to hang around as it was protected by the strong winds and we had a lovely diner the first day we arrived. We were lucky enough to eat outside as the weather was warm and all the plates we tried were of high standard. Porthmeor cafe can be a stunning starting and ending point of a day in St Ives.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mclouka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Terrific beachside setting and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed near St Ives for 5 days and ate breakfast or brunch at this fantastic cafe on 4 of the five days with our children. Delightful setting overlooking the white sandy beach. Excellent food and friendly service. LOVED it and will return again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Undertheoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Scrambled Eggs with Fresh Crab = Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We actually went to Porthmeor Cafe twice on Easter Saturday. First for breakfast before a long walk to Zennor along the coast (highly recommendable). I had the scrambled eggs on toast with fresh crab meat, sour cream, rocket and lemon. What a combination - it was super delicious and just the right size to set me up for the walk. My husband had poached eggs, mushrooms and bacon and he really enjoyed the quality of the produce.

We came back later for wine and a few tasty tapas - sitting outside in the sunshine with a blanket. The service we experienced was really good and friendly on both occasions and we are going back again soon for more delicious food.

Helpful?
Thank PEMtheDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porthmeor Cafe also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Porthmeor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing