We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic tapas by the sea”
Review of Porthmeor Cafe

Porthmeor Cafe
Ranked #8 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Porthmeor Beach Café Bar is open daily from Easter to November and serving food from 9:00am to 9:30pm. With Australian chef Cameron Jennings at the helm, breakfasts are renowned and our tapas menu has an acclaimed reputation. Full drinks license so come and sip champagne on our terrace and watch the sun go down.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic tapas by the sea”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our second visit and just as good as the first. The tapas menu is superb- we had prawns, duck breast, wedges, mushroom risotto balls, cauliflower fritters and 2 desserts. All were delicious, moreish and good value. We'd booked a heated booth again which looks out to the sea, giving privacy and an amazing backdrop. Friendly staff and fab chefs. Our fave place to eat anywhere!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eirwen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,376
    380
    67
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Faultless - 10 out of 10”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

A perfect night, great view, amazingly tasty Tapas, crackin service, delicious wine. It could not have been any better

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanWilliams66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderfull setting and food”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves on our last night in St Ives and booked a table for 8pm in the conservatory. We chose to have the tapas and a bottle of red wine. We ordered 5 dishes plus bread/oil all were delicious but I especially enjoyed the chorizo meatballs ( not normally a fan ) To finish I had the saffron bread and butter pudding and my husband the cheese with a glass of port. The sunset was stunning to watch whilst we enjoyed our meal. Altogether our bill was £52 which I thought good value for the excellent food and service. We will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxedNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location. Rude and ignorant staff.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

After a long journey from Yorkshire and reading great reviews we called in for a drink and some tapas. After sitting waiting for service for 25 mins and having waved and smiled at a surly looking waiter, we got up and left.

We don't do that normally but being ignored by lazy staff is unacceptable.

There are so many better places in St Ives where you are made to feel welcome.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BenjiDelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great location!!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

After a disappointing birthday meal at Porthmister Cafe earlier in the week, we thought we'd visit Porthmeor Cafe to try and make up for it, and we weren't disappointed!

When initially trying to book we were told they were full up for the remainder of the week but after a little negotiating and being flexible on our side, the staff did a great job at fitting us in. We turned up early and got a lovely booth in the sunshine overlooking the beach. The food was amazing and they catered really well for a gluten free diet which was needed by one of our party. The service was also great therefore this is definitely a place I’d head back to the next time I’m in St Ives.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porthmeor Cafe also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Porthmeor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing