We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Porthmeor Cafe

Porthmeor Cafe
Ranked #7 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Porthmeor Beach Café Bar is open daily from Easter to November and serving food from 9:00am to 9:30pm. With Australian chef Cameron Jennings at the helm, breakfasts are renowned and our tapas menu has an acclaimed reputation. Full drinks license so come and sip champagne on our terrace and watch the sun go down.
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

good food with a beautiful view, food was good, paying alot for the view

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sus335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,344
    368
    65
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Went here as a family during half term. Booked a booth with heater. We had a lovely evening here very relaxed atmosphere. My daughter had the prawn Thai curry which was delicious. The view was stunning and our waitress was lovely and attentive. We would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning food, service and setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Perhaps the best place I have ever eaten, tapas to die for, stunning views from the little heated pod, lovely staff, beautiful wine (and very reasonable) No visit to St ives would be complete if you miss this place

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarahket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Trading on its views - food not good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We went at a busy lunchtime & there were lots of staff: two of them were rushing about & the others seemed to be hanging around waiting for instructions. Luckily we got an efficient waitress & the service was good. We had 'potted prawns', which turned out to be chopped-up prawns in oil put in a pot, with bread & salad. The salad was tasty but sadly the prawns didn't taste of prawn at all, and everything was swimming in oil, including the bread. I would prefer to put on my own (little) butter. The coffee was lovely but then it should be at £2,40 for a small cup.

This is the second time I've been here and both times I've found the food to be slightly disappointing and not cheap. Fab view though, which alone is enough to draw in the punters. There are lots of little cafes tucked away in the pretty streets between here & the other side of the headland where you will find friendly people who value your custom, and a less hassled atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MirandaGoshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in St Ives we've found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We went last week and had a lovely meal with excellent service, watching the sun go down over Porthmeor Beach. We had three courses and even for a seafood sceptic like myself the food was excellent. Highly recommended for an evening meal. The wine, by the glass, was also very pleasant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleggy12A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porthmeor Cafe also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Porthmeor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing