We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in st Ives”
Review of The Sail Lofts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sail Lofts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This our 3rd time in ocean ! Yes it sleeps six and there was only two of us but who cares the contemporary space and decor make it the place to be , and the views down porthmeor beach and the sunsets and rises are fantastic .
staff are great and helpful when needed and the saillofts spa is well worth experiencing also for a facial
the parking space provided just up the road is a godsend for those who know st Ives !
keep it up this is as good as self catering gets

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 372 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Sail lofts is a lovely place to stay. The location is very good, parking is provided although it is a 15 min walk away and the decor and quality of fittings are perfect. Staff are attentive and helpful. However the apartment for 2 was a little expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robina432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The sail loft facilities were first class. Comfy and light, we were slightly unfortunate with the weather but it made it nice to be able to come back to the apartment and get warm and relax. Kids were happy and the stair gate was very useful, beware of the seagulls though, They are a bit of a pest and quite aggresive on the beach if you have an ice cream.

The pictures of the accomodation are accurate and as mentioned elsewhere the staff were always helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony_L74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our second stay at Sail Lofts - the first being in 2010. This time we stayed in Beach, the last time we stayed in Curno, both of which were brilliant. I love Cornwall because in more modern properties the living rooms and kitchens are on the top floor, with bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom floor. This makes sense as it captures the light, for which St Ives is famous. Anyway, back to the apartments - clean, spacious, big beds, excellent kitchen facilities (including tea towels and bin bags etc), ipod docking station, brilliant location for Porthmeor and Porthgwidden beaches, lovely and helpful staff, and free parking (a little way up the hill). They also have windbreaks to borrow, a wetroom if you like surfing, beach towels in each apartment and great contacts locally for all your holiday needs.

If you want to book in the summer holidays it's advisable to ring them as many of their apartments have repeat customers year on year - which tells you everything you need to know about how good they are!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family of four and I made our 4th successive stay at The Sail Lofts in St Ives and once again the experience was close to impeccable

We stayed in the Island apartment which is spacious and well appointed as well as being literally steps away form Porthmeor Beach

The staff have a great way of being available as needed but in an understated way that allows you to get on with your holiday

Location is a real plus point for The Sail Lofts being within 5 minutes walk of Porthmeor and Porthgwidden beaches (both of which have great beach cafes - try the Porthmeor for cracking breakfasts after a morning stroll along the beach) and less than 5 minutes from the harbour and twon centre

Parking is at a premium in St Ives and while it would be ideal to be closer than the Beach Road parking offered, the 10 minutes walk is generally no major issue.

We will be returning in 2014

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Have stayed in both Apartments which were of the highest standard, and would highly recommend to anyone wishing to stay in St Ives. The apartments were both modern and bright, with everything you could possible need. Seconds away from the beautiful beaches for the children and only a 2 minute flat walk to the lovely town centre.The staff were only too pleased to help in any way possible. A magical place to stay through out the year, thoroughly enjoyed by all the family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Simply lovely. Only positive things to say about the apartment, decor, location, staff etc. Why go abroad ...? A wet room + loan of bits for the beach was a nice touch. Watch out for the seagulls though.......

Room Tip: No pool. No children requiring activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddy-Fields1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.6 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,025 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.5 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sail Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sail Lofts

Address: Porthmeor Road, St Ives TR26 1GB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sail Lofts 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the ocean and offering the ultimate in laid-back luxury, Sail Lofts five star award-winning accommodation is a rare gem set on St Ives' coastal pinnacle, within the heart of the town's iconic Downalong area. With on site concierge, complimentary car parking and enviable location, the Sail Lofts apartments combine the ultimate in luxury and convenience with a unique personalised service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sail Lofts Hotel St Ives
The Sail Lofts St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing