We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sail Loft-Surf, St Ives”
Review of The Sail Lofts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sail Lofts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

A one week holiday spent at the Sail loft (Surf) in St Ives, Cornwall was so wonderful that my boyfriend and I insist of going back again when we have a chance. Everything which we have expected were right there, either the beaches, restaurants or shops were so near and so convenience. The cottage itself was clean, very cosy and stylist. One thing which we could not resist was how welcome and helpful were the staff at the Sail Loft and for sure this is by far the best place we would recommend for the people who are looking for an accommodation to rent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ploy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 368 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had stayed at the Sail Lofts previously and it was an easy decision to return this year with our little son. (This is the first property we have returned to!) We had Curno which is an apartment over three floors (ground, first and second floor), partially overlooking St Ives. The layout was ideal for us as family. We could leave our wellies, beach toys, towels and pram on the ground floor, while the bedrooms were located on the first floor. The main bedroom is a fantastic size, very generous and with built-in wardrobes. Plenty of storage to keep all rooms clutter free. The second bedroom was equally nicely furnished though smaller, perfect to hold a cot for our son who miraculously slept through all 13 nights of our stay! The bathroom has a shower over bath, is modern and perfectly sufficient in size for a family. The living room and kitchen on the top floor are a great space with an open ceiling/visible beams, lots of room for our son to run around, no precious furniture that might break or get damaged and an open plan kitchen with dining table. The living room was so comfortable that we actually stayed in most nights and cooked (Kelly kindly organised fresh fish, we just rang and found the fish we ordered in the fridge the next day!). The standard of furniture and equipment is very high and it feels a home away from home. We cannot express enough how lovely it was to enjoy a generous space in the centre of St Ives, especially with a very active two year old. A small cottage would have made it more difficult and stressful for us parents to spend time indoors. Kelly, Sam and Peter had organised everything so well that there were no questions left when we arrived. It was worth having a parking space reserved with it being a very busy month in August. And the babysitters organised by the Sail Lofts were both lovely and helpful and allowed us to have nice meals out at the Porthminster Restaurant, Porthmeor Cafe and the Gurnards Head. The spa was a nice new experience as it hadnt been there the first time we stayed at the Saillofts. We enjoyed the personal service throughout our stay and are sure to come back- this time with two little boys!

Room Tip: Curno has a nice view over the roof tops of St Ives!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy6879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just returned from a week in St. Ives. We stayed in the Sail Loft Cottage and it was wonderful. The location was so pretty; the beach 3 mins away and the harbour also on our doorstep. The cottage itself was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the beds and linen gorgeous. I absolutely would recommend a holiday here!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MollyEgham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have just returned from our fifth visit to Sail Lofts and loved it this time as much as the first. We were so lucky and had 7 days of hot sunshine which always helps but these apartments are pretty faultless. They are light, airy, modern, spotless and equipped with all the usual things but have wonderful extras from beautiful artwork to interesting lamps to really well designed breadboards! Just about everything has been thought of but if anything has been forgotten Sam, Peter and Kelly are right there to help you with absolutely anything. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. This location suits our family and friends so well - 1 minute's walk from the beautiful Porthmeor and Porthgwidden beaches and cafes, shops, art galleries, fantastic restaurants all so very close too. This must be the best place to stay in St Ives not only for its very high standards but also its location. However it is priced accordingly!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jane632554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and two children have just finished our third consecutive annual week in the Sail Lofts. We stayed in the Island apartment for the second time which offers stylish, spacious and clean accommodation on two floors.

The children feel immediately at home and there is a great attention to detail, from the welcome pack to the gadgets and utensils available in the kitchen area.

Of course the location is a massive plus for the Sail Lofts being literally 100 metres from the wonderful Porthmear Beach. This beach offers great surfing and body boarding and the hot showers in the Sail offs wet room is always a treat as one comes off the beach - and also keeps the apartments clean and sand-free.

Whether one wants access to this or the other nearby beaches or a 5 minute stroll down to the St Ives Harbour you are perfectly placed. We arranged parking nearby - it's just under a ten minute walk but is ideally placed for taking a day trip in and out of St Ives without worrying about the famous narrow streets.

We actually rarely see anything of the staff as things have tended to run very smoothly but there is a comfort factor that should anything not be "just so" we have the confidence that any issues would be addressed promptly.

It's the finest accommodation in St Ives in our opinion and we are already booked for a return next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Sail Loft have got it spot on- combining well designed, clean and lovely apartments with friendly service. I appreciated the opportunity to book a baby sitter or a spa treatment, car parking or a discounted surf lesson, for example, which can all make your break even better. Nice touches like scones on arrival and our online grocery delivery put away for us were welcomed. My family loved the gorgeous Island apartment: stylish, peaceful, handy location next to Porthmeor beach, perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlosQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Second trip to Sail lofts, stayed in Slipway and then Ocean. Superb appartments, so close to the beach and even with Ocean with enough of an ocean view so we could spot when the surf was up. Love the modern, simple, yet cornish coast decor and also the fact the appartments are spotless on arrival. It's a treat to stay in which is useful with the days of rain! The staff are really friendly and helpful, nothing seems a trouble. Already booked for next year, we are addicts to St Ives and could not imagine staying other than the sail lofts.

Room Tip: Slipway has the balcony - really worth it. Both Ocean and Slipway have top floor lounges with atrium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.6 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,012 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
788 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sail Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sail Lofts

Address: Porthmeor Road, St Ives TR26 1GB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sail Lofts 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the ocean and offering the ultimate in laid-back luxury, Sail Lofts five star award-winning accommodation is a rare gem set on St Ives' coastal pinnacle, within the heart of the town's iconic Downalong area. With on site concierge, complimentary car parking and enviable location, the Sail Lofts apartments combine the ultimate in luxury and convenience with a unique personalised service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sail Lofts Hotel St Ives
The Sail Lofts St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing