We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic town centre cafe” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhubarbs - CLOSED

Rhubarbs
Cuisines: British, International, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Rhubarbs is situated in the hub of St Ives. Fresh, healthy, rustic food cooked all day. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with homemade cakes and cream teas served too. We serve a wide variety of food, with a superb friendly service in a modern yet eclectic environment. We look forward to seeing you at Rhubarbs!
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basic town centre cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Went in for a meal after seeing good reviews. We found it to be lacking something, not that you could refer to it as bad as such.
The food was average, and appeared to be prepared in a seperate building and carried through a courtyard into the cafe, which I feel is unhygienic

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thehilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food was good home cooking. Although the vegetables were under cooked as the broccoli was practically raw!
The staff were friendly if a little slow. Good value for money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here on a sunny Easter holiday day. The town was busy but this place was just nice, few people in there but not too busy. The food is good straightforward stuff. We sampled a mega breakfast, cod and chips, kids burger and a bacon & sausage baggette with some drinks. Can say that the food was nicely done and good generous portions, especially the mega breakfast. The service was good and friendly and they obviously cared if everything was ok. Would recommend if you want some good straightforward food in nice surrounding especially if you have the kids with you. Prices are very reasonable for what you get.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Called in for coffee and late breakfast during the Christmas break. I ordered poached egg on white toast, but was given poached egg on brown! I didn't bother to complain because I was rather hungry, but I did really enjoy it. There was a lady sat behind who was served my order, but she pulled a face and sent it back!! The waitress did apologise but then said she was rushed off her feet! The restaurant has been sold recently so watch this space!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Duds22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rhubarbs restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I visited this restaurant during the summer. I had a fantastic brunch whilst I was there. The location of the restaurant is great, it is very central. The food was fantastic. There was a lot of different options in the menu, I had a brunch which was the usual, eggs, bacon, sausage, beans etc. They also have a great vegetarian option for breakfast/brunch. The veggie breakfast almost tempted me into going for the veggie option. But I did end up ordering a portion of halloumi on the side as I couldn’t resist this.
I can’t fault rhubarb on anything, the venue looks lovely, there is a nice vibe in there, its friendly and not too formal, so you feel relaxed when you are there. The couple that run the restaurant are lovely too and will do anything to try and make sure you enjoy the time you spend there and that the food is good. They also have the cutest little girl. It’s definitely nice as it seems like a family business and they are also very accommodating for children. I will definitely go to Rhubarbs next time I’m in Cornwall.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miss_sugre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhubarbs also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing