We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Cafe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhubarbs - CLOSED

Rhubarbs
Cuisines: British, International, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Rhubarbs is situated in the hub of St Ives. Fresh, healthy, rustic food cooked all day. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with homemade cakes and cream teas served too. We serve a wide variety of food, with a superb friendly service in a modern yet eclectic environment. We look forward to seeing you at Rhubarbs!
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I had a cream tea, the scones were lovely and soft. They had a few very nice looking cakes on display, but the scones filled me up. Nice decor, nice atmosphere, very relaxed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Poteberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Breakfast heaven!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went for breakfast and all our dishes (pancakes, full english and egg florentine) were excellent. Services was quick and friendly.

We did think about going back for evening meal, but it was busy so we asked if there was a possibility for a take out. There was, but they were not giving any discount. Around £15 for a takeout meal was on the steep side for us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Only for the light eater paying in cash”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice place with an interesting menu. The food is tasty and while prices are fair the value is not great. Thy extensively use green leaves to bulk up dishes and salads (which are not generously proportioned to start with) thereby sparing the use of other ingredients. If you are a light eater then you may love this place but if you want a regular portion then perhaps try somewhere else. The salads were, for example, described as a main but in reality a generous starter or side dish. Pity really.

Rather bizzarely they do not accept card payments although there is a cash machine opposite.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Food, Lovely Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Can recommended Rubarbs as food was excellent and atmosphere was very relaxing. My wife and daughter had Salmon, my son had steak and I had sea bass. All were beautifully cooked, well presented and tasted excellent. We found the price very reasonable especially given the quality of the food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pembrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Breakfast fit for hungry, Kings, Queens, Princes & Princesses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

After eating several hearty breakfast's over 10 days to date in St Ives and the surrounding areas this, in my opinion, is the best available. Heinz beans, local bacon, sausages etc etc all presented a lovely breakfast. Our children were catered for with a made up breakfast of whatever they wanted and the availability of scrambled eggs instead of traditional fried was a treat as most restaurants in the area stick to the written text. Pancakes with trimmings, granola and various eggy dishes are also available along with traditional toast with preserves etc. Very relaxed atmosphere with plenty of seats in a relatively spacious restaurant. Prices on a par with others if not a bit cheaper, highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhubarbs also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing