We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Westcliff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westcliff Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #63 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Westcliff”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We have stayed at Westcliff every year for 25 years. It is very clean & homely & exceptionally friendly. It is at Porthmeor Beach ( with indoor/outdoor excellent restaurant & beach takeaway) next to Bowling & Putting Greens, Tate Modern and coastal path, 10 minute relatively flat walk to harbour & shops. Run by Terrie (with some help from hubbie Mike) it is a real home from home with great full English breakfast. We go home feeling really relaxed from our holiday(having made a provisional booking for next year.

FREE PARKING with easy access to beach

Room Tip: first floor bay window(magnificant view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank POTTERS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffguesthouse, Owner at Westcliff Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We really look forward to your stay every year - see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

"Come to St. Ives for an unforgettable Cornish holiday, come to Mike and Terrie Cook at Westcliffe Guest house for a truly warm and friendly stay.
Terrie's warm welcome and bubbly personality let you know you will enjoy your stay. The property is not too large, but the rooms are clean and comfortable, with the individual facilities one would expect, ie Tv , tea, coffee and biscuits, with en-suite in all rooms. The service is excellent.
The house and Terrie Cook have reflective personalities….. not overly large, welcoming, with a bright , sunny friendly outlook! (and the view from the house is one of the best in St Ives)
Mr and Mrs Cook are a warm, pleasant and accommodating team, this is a family home; stay here once and I guarantee you will return, just as we do,"

Eddie and Jackie Thrower
(Nottingham)

Room Tip: Ask for the Bridal Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffguesthouse, Owner at Westcliff Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Your kind comments are much appreciated and we are so pleased that you all have enjoyed your stay here. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I stayed in Room 4 at Westcliff for Easter 2011. On arrival I saw that the pictures on their website http://www.guesthouse-stives.co.uk/ are entirely accurate – the views are simply amazing! My room on the second floor was quite small but had everything I needed – a comfortable double bed, good storage space, Freeview tv and wireless internet with a good connection included in the price. The bathroom was compact with a very good shower. As you’ll see from my photo, the room has breathtaking views over Porthmeor Beach, from the coastal path to the Island!

I found the Westcliff location ideal: close to the town centre and harbour (five minutes’ easy walking with no gigantic hills to navigate), yet right on the beach and blessedly quiet at night. I loved St Ives but the harbour area, even at Easter, was heaving with people. During the night at Westcliff the only sound was the waves washing on the shore – not something you could say in the town centre, I am sure! I travelled by train, but there is parking available for guests in front of the house, which I suspect is quite unusual in St Ives.

Breakfast was served from 8.30-9am and it was lavish – a choice of cereals, plus a cooked breakfast, with toast and jam to follow, and coffee or tea. The cooked breakfast was delicious and I loved the hot cross buns laid on specially for Easter! After such a vast breakfast, I found I only needed ice cream for lunch, so that saved me some money – and the Cornish ice cream is not to be missed!

Terrie and Mike were the perfect hosts – friendly, helpful and extremely efficient. Though it’s a small guest house with only four rooms, the service was first class. Westcliff will definitely be my first choice when I return to St Ives!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffguesthouse, Owner at Westcliff Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments - I'm glad you enjoyed the 'Easter Treats'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

The Westcliff Guest House run by Terrie must and must be in the best location in St Ives with fantastic views overlooking the beach. Ideal for Porthmear Beach only a few minutes walk, and only a couple more minutes to the Town centre. Terrie the host is most accomodating and helpful. She even dried my wifes clothes for her in her tumble drier when she was caught in a shower. Breakfast is varied and plentiful. I had the full english for 3 days running and only just managed to finish it if i missed the cereals first. Plenty of free car parking right outside the door which is a big bonus as parking in St. Ives is horrendous. We parked up outside on day of arrival and didn't need to use the car again till we left. There are 2 rooms with a sea view, get 1 of those if you can, the views are superb. The garden facing facing rooms are ok too so don't be put off by them if thats all thats left because you won't want to spend much time in them as St. Ives in Cornwall is absolutely the best seaside town in the UK.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffguesthouse, Owner at Westcliff Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
St. Ives is 'the jewel of the West' - we are so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#16 of 102 in St Ives
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#21 of 102 in St Ives
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#44 of 102 in St Ives
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 102 in St Ives
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlyon Guest House
Carlyon Guest House
#92 of 102 in St Ives
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Bed & Breakfast

Property: Westcliff Bed & Breakfast
Address: West Cliff Beach Road | Cornwall, St Ives TR26 1JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westcliff is superbly situated facing the golden sands of Porthmeor Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. Directly opposite Westcliff is the footpath to the beach, the bowling and putting greens, and the South West Coast Path leading to the beautiful cliffs at Clodgy Point, Zennor and beyond. A quiet location yet the harbour, shops and other beaches are only a few minutes gentle walk away and the famous St Ives Tate Gallery is close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westcliff Bed & Breakfast St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing