We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever”

Firehouse Bar and Grill
Ranked #20 of 148 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
england
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best service ever”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We popped in for lunch and a table by the window was found. We had our puppy with us which was welcomed and the staff even got a bowl of water for her. The food was pretty good and presented well but the best thing was the attitude and friendliness of the two girls who were serving. They were lovely helpful and attentive. What more could you ask for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pookie3967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    398
    111
    49
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rush Bar Service !”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked on the morning of 22Aug for an evening sitting and was inform that the resturant upstairs was overbooked and there was availability downstairs bar area only! On arrival 8.30pm after we ordered our food and serve with our meals we had to ask from the bar staff cutlery and plates 5minutes after! When we asked for salt and pepper pot there was no salt left in the pot!
The seafood platter came out with food covered in dark coloured batter not crispy goldern colour it seems the kitchen may not change there cooking oil reguarly instead they may top up the deep fat fryer!
I odered a sirloin steak medium with pri pri sauce and my colleague odered sirloin steak rare
with stilton cheese sauce and they serve our meals the reverse way round which is not acceptable! The bar staff did apologise and have us a competmentry drinks! at no point fid the bar staff said during our meal experience how was the meal!
The whole dining experience seems rush from the bar staff when challenged they said there not waiters from the resturant and had to attend the customers that are drinking as well as customers that are eating! My reply was the bar downstairs should not be charging the same prices as the resturant upstairs if we felt the service was sun-standard!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KwiYau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for dinner tonight and the food was lovely. We were greeted well and served promptly. The food was delicious, a little expensive but worth it for the view across the bay and the high quality food. Definately reccommended :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flower2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sorry but not as good as it was”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Fourth year here for us and sad to say same old menu and 'specials' as previous years. Sadly burgers this year were dry and overcooked and the rest of the food was in appealing. This was a previous favourite venue for us but this year the burgers were dry and overcooked and the food is now left far behind by other fresher more appetising burger restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hewhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cramped and rushed”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

As a family and couple we have eaten at The Firehouse Bar and Grill on many occasions when staying in St Ives and have enjoyed it, however after our last visit I would think twice about returning. I booked our table two weeks in advance, on arrival we were seated in the middle of the restaurant with tables at every angle and very very close. Every time the staff passed by I felt I was in the way but had no room to move my chair in any closer, I was almost sat on the next table as it was! The food was ok - no change of menu from previous visits. Good sized portions and the food came out quite quick. However, everything felt rushed, on booking I was given a two hour slot, not a problem but it felt like a fast food restaurant and we were out under an hour. Decided against having a desert and another drink. The views of the harbor are beautiful and the restaurant is clean, however, too cramped and lacking in atmosphere for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shellbr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse Bar and Grill also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Firehouse Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing