We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Hub Bar and restaurant”
Review of Hub

Hub
Ranked #15 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Hub St Ives is situated in the heart of the town, we are a well established feature on the harbour front and an essential stop off for great coffee, fabulous cakes and amazing food. In the evening we are the ideal place for fantastic burgers or just to sip cocktails or sample one of our local and international craft beers and watch the world go by. We have a modern menu of really delicious burgers made in house from aged Cornish rare breed beef supplied by the fabulous Phillip Warrens of Launceston. Lobster Rolls when in season and daily seasonal specials. Our hot dogs are New York style but produced in the UK using 100% free range pork, oak smoked and seasoned with paprika, nutmeg & black pepper. Our burger and hot dog buns are produced by artisan 'Baker Tom' and delivered fresh everyday. As you can see our food is something we are fiercely proud of. Breakfast served between 9am and 11am Main menu served from 12noon Kitchen closes 9pm Bar open until late
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Hub Bar and restaurant”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went here a number of times during our stay in St Ives. It's a very informal, relaxed bar that sells American style food. We had ribs, nachos, and a variety of burgers during our stay and all were good, nothing oily or too pricey, just good, well cooked food. The staff were always helpful, friendly and attentive, in fact they went out of their way to suggest different guest beers to try, even letting us have a taster before buying. Wetherspoon's does not nearly compare and it's better value for money than some of the more 'up market' places to eat in St Ives. They provide Spirographs to keep kids busy and is dog friendly, even providing fresh water for them. A good eating place that has it's priorities right!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    421
    90
    35
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Really nice breakfast , however two people having a brekkie and a coffee each = £20. Bit pricey, so will be going to wetherspoons round the corner for a £3.19 breakfast which is just as adequate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neetski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place needs to decide whether its a bar or a restaurant! I visited here with my girlfriend in April during a relatively quiet time of the day and season. First for foremost, I completely agree with other TripAdvisor customers who have also had a negative experience eating here. The service is just terrible, well non existent. There is no indication on your arrival whether you should be seated or help yourself to a table. No one takes your order from the table despite a plethora of staff wafting around the place looking busy. I say looking busy... they we more concerned with chatting with their friends popping in off the street. It was more like a youth club canteen. Despite healthy staff levels no one cleaned our table from the previous customers, we had to do this ourselves. Very very disappointed. The food was tasty but also very greasy, our meals were literally dripping with it. Again be prepared to wait for your meal it took our meals nearly an hour to be made. Thats just for a burger and a hot dog! Relative to the cost of the experience, it can only be described as poor at best! Again I'm very very disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The place for a drink overlooking the harbour”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We always visit here when in St Ives, almost daily, when The Sloop is predictably packed out, this is the only other place for a drink with a seaview if you aren't eating. It's quite trendy and hip on a night with lots of youngsters, but in the day is more a watering hole for everyone. Sitting at the front is a great spot for people watching and looking at the sea. Food is OK but nothing to write home about in terms of value. The staff are very friendly though and I do recommend it overall.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dogs and beer”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Having a young child and a dog often limits on places to eat out, but we visited the hub 3 times during our week, lunch, dinner and just a drink in the afternoon. Every time we were all made to feel very welcome including the dog who was brought a bowl of water without even asking.

The hub is a modern and relaxed place with fantastic young staff great food and fantastic local beer. A strange combination that works really very well, and fantastic value as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlieboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hub also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing