We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great Cornwall visit!”
Review of Sandbank Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandbank Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great Cornwall visit!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

As we have family in Cornwall we often visit in late April/early May and always look for dog-friendly accommodation. This time we chose Sandbanks and stayed in the 'Pixie' cottage - bedroom, lounge/kitchen/diner and bathroom with a small enclosed garden and nearby, miles of sand dunes (Towans) and beaches. Great stay with sunshine, comfortable accommodation and very well placed for seeing family & friends in Truro, St Day, Lelant and St Ives. The cottage was quiet and warm, our £10 electricity voucher lasted the week and included costs for cooking, heating (we used an additional fan heater) and the hot water. Wi-Fi is included and although we lost the connection for a day, Chris the owner was very helpful - even offering his personal i-pad for our use! No matter (but a nice gesture) as we re-connected the next day.

Downsides only minor - summer weight duvet that was small for the duvet cover (we used an extra car blanket), old but serviceable hob & cooker with a limited range of pots & pans.

Upsides - great location, reasonably priced, very clean, very helpful staff, quiet, easy parking, useful 'welcome pack' and wonderful views to Hayle, Carbis Bay & St Ives and the Godrevy lighthouse (from the top of the Towans - particularly dog walking at night!).

Would we stay again - certainly, yes !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and your comments are most welcome. We hope to see you again, including your lovely beagle who must have been very tired when he got home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    25
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My Husband, my self and our two dogs really enjoyed our stay at Sandbank Holidays. We stayed in "Pixie" a perfect little bungalow for two. The Bungalow was clean and warm, the bed was comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, the shower was to die for....nice and powerful. :) The enclosed garden was ideal for the dogs to wander in and out. The staff where lovely, helpful and friendly and not in your face, but just at the end of the phone or in reception if needed. Great location for exploring south Cornwall. It's just 10 minute walk to Gwithian beach of which half of it is dog friendly. Our dogs Willow 3 and Tess 13 loved their holiday and so did we. Nice little home from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Lovely to hear that you all enjoyed your stay so much, and we look forward to welcoming you both plus Tess and Willow back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sandbank Holidays during the Winter-Let-Season until February 2013 and I must say that Sandbank Holidays was a great find in Cornwall. It is a very ideal and quiet location within easy reach to St.Ives, Penzance, Camborne and Truro. When we arrived, our flat was super clean and everything was maintained to a high standard. We had a decked patio and the garden was beautiful and at all times well maintained. Chris (the owner) was very attentive and anything we needed throughout the stay, including some small things fixing here and there, were followed up without delay. We certainly will stay again! Last but not least our stay has been made most comfortable by the remarkable staff member of Sanbanks - Teresa! Teresa is most approachable and attends to the needs of the holiday makers at any given time and makes your stay an extremely comfortable one. She posses a cheerful disposition and is most approachable. She always attend to our need and queries throughout our stay and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

we really had a such a lovely hollyday with my dog in sandbank....I really enjoyed my stay there ...
Staff are really friendly .. Beutiful garden.... My dog really enjoyed there. Very good value of money ..great location ,
We would come again in sandbank for my hollydays in cornwall .. my dog still missing the place..
We loved it..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigmolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sandbank Holidays! Many thanks for your review, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Friendly welcome, great location for the beach and Godrevy point. Near to St Ives but without the business. Charming bedroom and a good breakfast in a lovely dining room. The garden is decked and perfect for relaxing, along with the comfy lounge with tv.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

One of the best places we have stayed at with our dog. Everything was as described in the brochure can't wait till next year.very clean and comfy. The nearby beach was excellent for the whole family and dog friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbattybutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is the fourth year we have been down to stay at Sandbanks. It is a really lovely place to stay, excellent accommodation which is always spotlessly clean and very well equiped and to a very high standard. The fact that they welcome dogs is of great benefit to us and our 6 spaniels who join us on our holidays, they really enjoy their stay and the great walks on the Dunes and Beaches. We will definitely be back again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanhickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
3.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.5 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
3.9 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#12 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbank Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbank Holidays

Property: Sandbank Holidays
Address: 51 Upton Towans | Gwithian, St Ives TR27 5BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the eastern side of St. Ives Bay, we are ideally located for that quiet Cornish getaway. We are a small family-owned site of Apartments and Bungalows set in peaceful landscaped gardens, and nestling in acres of grassy sand dunes close to three miles of beautiful beach that stretches from Hayle to Godrevy Lighthouse at Gwithian. All our accommodation is spotlessly clean and well-equipped for your self-catering holiday, and our large gardens and play area provide a safe environment for children. Surfing, cycling, fishing, and boat trips can all be accessed locally, and there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants around for good food and ales. Paradise Park, Flambards, Lost Gardens of Heligan and The Eden Project are all within an easy drive from Sandbank. From public gardens to golf, cliff-walking, visiting family fun parks or simply relaxing on the beach, there is something to entertain the whole family on your Cornish break. We are also one of the few remaining sites that welcomes dogs, plus their well-behaved owners, and ideally located close to countless attractions and stunning beauty spots. Open March to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandbank Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbank Holidays St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing