We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel from hell”
Review of St Merryn Hotel

St Merryn Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Merryn Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
henley in arden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“hotel from hell”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

on my arrival the hotel was shabby dirty of apperance there was no lift miles of stairs on entering my room i was mortified the carpet was filthy the dust around the skirtings and behind the beds i could not use the so called furniture the chairs where stained the shower trickled our door looked like it had been forced my nightmare had just began no choice of food and staff that needed to put some clothes on the gardens where overgrown and the path way had been cut back to allow us entry you could not sit in the gardens the whole hotel needs revamping and money spent on it was told by locals it had a bad reputation st ives is a lovely place but do not enter this hotel we had the holiday from hell

Room Tip: dont stay in any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

my first view of the st merryn was when we came off the coach and walked around to the entrance of the hotel.There were dirty chairs and a table and cigarette butts on the floor.Not a very good first impression.The rooms appeared clean but on inspection the dust behind bed and in the corners of the room were very noticable.The food was good but not much choice and on first night no choice for main meal.The hedges and pathways were really overgrown and no mention of the games on the lawn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank judy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The evening meals were never cooked from fresh, all Iceland specials! Decor shabby, walls mouldy. Access and parking was difficult for even the fittest of people and there wasn't even a lift for the disabled. St Ives is such a lovely place, shame the same can't be said of the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank twiggycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

mike&,blanche the hosts, were friendly,nothing was to much trouble.location was on top,long hill,with tesco behind and a good bus service.4 floors no disabled acess, no lift, the steps,high in the garden(if walking probs you need room on the ground floor) the hotel/rooms was clean, however decor was bit shabby/needs updating badly.beds were really comforttable,towels replaced daiIy and, all were spotless.food was excellent,hot and all homemade(all credit to blance).breakfast were plentiful, waitress were helpful friendl(mary& di-ane). kim is obviously in the wrong job,gives the impression,its beneath her does/not want be there.the bar is very reasonably priced with good choice(,went see kenny hackett,good singer)entertainment, was good/varied even singing dogs lol.the staff came out to wave us off(mike comes on bus on arrival)blance even make you sandwiches for jorny home.st ives excellent beach, clear sea got good train service,the open topped bus (the bustops very near to hotell) s great vaule@£7 ticket each. you can get off anywhere on 3hour trip. there 30min wait in penzance,go everywhere even lands end.

Room Tip: front facing 3rd sea view, back rooms give you view car park and baby seagull-george lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank thewarlock232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just returned and was dissapointed with the hotel after reading all the reviews. The proprietors and staff are friendly but the hotel has alot to be desired-the overall cleanliness is poor-the furniture and carpets need replacing badly-its location is not overlooking the bay unless you have an upper floor room!!! The nine hole putting green was non existant-the entrance and garden furniture was dirty with a blocked drain by front door-food was acceptable but not exceptional-entertainment was good and drink prices reasonable- I would not recommend this hotel for a return visit.

Room Tip: If disabled there is only one ground floor room and no lift-quite a distance from St Ives centre but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank georgia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have been organising coach holidays with a family friend and co driver Dennis since 2001 and the St Merryn Hotel is definately one of the best we have stayed with. Our visit included a party of 40 friends and family and our stay was Mon 4th June - Fri 8th June 2012. Mike and Blanche are a very friendly couple who manage the hotel and we were made to feel most welcome. After the first evenings four course meal which was so gorgeous, prepared by Blanche and served by friendly waiteresses we all knew we were in for a happy holiday cus a good hotel makes for a good holiday. Rooms, Food, Hospitality and Entertainment were all outstandingly excellent and this is why the hotel is definately one of the best and we hope to return in 2015 again when our next visit to Cornwall is planned. I wonder if I might get another hole in one on the hotels very own putting green ? Many thanks to Mike & Blanche and all the staff at St Merryn Hotel for a greatly appreciated holiday from Andy, Dennis and company

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda Cynon Taf, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

A truly outstanding hotel. From the moment you arrive a warm welcome is given by Mike amd Blanche. We went with Leisuretime from South Wales. Mike joined our coach on arrival and explained the meal times etc.
We went as a party of 8 and some people had a small room while others larger. I can recommend room 1 for space.
The meals are what make this hotel and Blanche seems to prepare all the delicious food. There is plenty to go around and it tastes terrific. Mike opens the bar at 8 and sometimes runs a quiz or bingo when there is no artist. we had three nights there and had an artist on 2 of those. The bar prices are good which makes you happy to stay for the entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RCtrchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.0 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.0 mi away
Torbay Court Hotel
Torbay Court Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Merryn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Merryn Hotel

Property: St Merryn Hotel
Address: St Ives TR26 2PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
St Merryn Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing