We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find and a half!”
Review of The Sloop Inn

The Sloop Inn
Ranked #38 of 148 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A find and a half!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped here for a bite to eat after a full day of walking round St Ives. The seafood was to die for. Truly awesome and so reasonably priced. Make sure you push yourself to try the seafood, it surpasses pub food and was awesome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laralou1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    321
    113
    53
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for money”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We recently stayed here for the Christmas period. Although our room was a tad on the small side. It was still comfortable. The evenings meal were extremely good value. We could select anything off the menu, paying £15 for three courses. Food was well cooked and presented, well worth what we paid for.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Seafood, welcoming atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from St Ives after our honeymoon. We spent a few hours here and the food was exceptional. I've tasted a few Thai green curries in my time but this was out of this world. Massive portions of fresh seafood, prawns so big and mussels so tasty. It was so nice! The place is very welcoming, staff were very responsive and thoughtful, a great atmosphere! I cannot wait to go back for a curry! Lovely place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmah771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious lunch”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was a wonderfully cold and crisp day that we decided to pop into St Ives for lunch. Most of our other haunts were closed for lunch so we decided on The Sloop, a famous, if not infamous old pub in the centre of St Ives. The staff were very friendly and the food was perfect. I had fillets of sea bass with chillies, ginger and spring onions with a crushed potato mash with coriander. It was simply perfect and just as good as any Michelin starred restaurant in Cornwall. My husband had cod fillets with new potatoes and mixed salad which he said was equally as delicious. It may be 'only a pub' but the food surpassed itself. We also had a lovely treacle tart with Cornish cream and a blackberry and apple crumble. Yum!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bernie”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have frequented the sloop inn on a number of occasions and have stayed there for a few weekends. It has character that you won't find anywhere else, the food is good and they have a good selection of beers, cider, wines and spirits, you can sit outside and watch the world go by. It does get really busy but this is a testament to it's popularity. Xmas there is my favourite time, and new years eve, everyone in fancy dress... I look forward to many more years visiting

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berniesretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sloop Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Sloop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing