We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located B&B”
Review of Beechwood House

Beechwood House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beechwood House
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Beechwood, got to say, we had a very nice stay there, Pete is full is Midlands wit, and a really informative host, offering loads of suggestions / ideas of places to visit and ways of getting to them. Rooms were comfortable (we had the king room No10), the bed was unbelievably comfortable, i take the point of a previous review about a sliding door to the bathroom, but didn't give us any hassle. Breakfast was good and filling, good choice and really no problem to order the previous night, fresh fruit salad, cereals, fruit juice for starters. Not really troubled by road noise, although we were staying at the front of the house. A good italian (Casa Romana) just along the road too for evening meals. buses run often into St Ives center so no need to drive in, will definitely be staying there again

Room Tip: Room 10 for very comfortable king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 76 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Beechwood for three nights in June and were pleased overall with our stay. St. Ives is a lovely beach town and we found it was a good base for traveling all over Cornwall. Pete is very friendly, full of information/recommendations, and willing to go the extra mile to make the guests happy. He made a point to chat with every guest every morning at breakfast and not only ask after everyone but share funny anecdotes about all manner of topics. The room is quiet and comfortable so we always slept well. There's a hot breakfast every morning cooked to order, plus cereal, yogurt and fruit, which was always the best part of the day! For American travelers, the rooms, baths, and beds are smaller that we are generally used to in the US but is on par with accommodations in the UK. There's no A/C, but an open window lets in a perfect sea breeze. The B&B has 7 parking spaces but 5 of them are in a straight line next to the house, which was a bit nerve racking when we first arrived as we had no idea how we would ever get out. But every morning Pete would expertly back our car out for us and never made us feel embarrassed about it. Overall, if you are willing to keep an open mind you can easily make do. Beechwood is about 1.5 miles outside of the main town but we could walk there in about 35 minutes along the coast or catch a bus right outside the B&B and take a five minute ride to the heart of St. Ives. And if you don't feel like going into town, there are restaurants and a convenience store within a couple blocks. We had a great time here and if we ever return to St. Ives we will stay at the Beechwood.

Room Tip: We had a small double facing the sea. The small double was a little tight for two people in that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank World_Traveler563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Beechwood for 4 nights in September whilst I was visiting family. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was beautifully fiited out. It had all the ammenities that one would expect from a more expensive place. I do have one minor criticism and thats to do with the positioning of the en-suite door (room 10) the door would be better if it had a cavity sliding door installed instead of the outward opening door that bumped onto the side of the bed. Thats the only complaint I have. The breakfasts were very good and presented in a nice friendly atsmosphere. I would reccomend Beechwood to any of my friends or relatives. We had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags try and stay on the ground floor.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spent a long weekend here, for me, all i want is clean and tidy and a nice breakfast. I got all of that, and great customer service, in the form of accommodating owners, and the local advice that they were always willing and able to give out, on a number of occasions.

The hotel is ideally located, being not close enough to be too busy and noisy, but not too far for visiting the beaches or taking in some coastal walks.

With St Ives being such a popular and stunning location, the long weekend was memorable, I have no hesitation in recommending The Beechwood.

Room Tip: As always, away from main entrances !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

St Ives is a beautiful place if you haven`t been before i recommend it. The Beechwood is also a nice place it`s clean and modern with a lovely comfy bed and a good shower/en suite, the owners are very friendly and informative of places to visit and places to eat. I will return to St Ives and i will be booking to stay at the Beechwood Thank You for a great holiday :)

Room Tip: I had room 10 at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Beechwood with my boyfriend and we had a lovely time. We had peacful night sleeps, and woke up to a lovely breakfast. The rooms were clean and modern. The owners are lovely people always happy to help, and gave us plenty of information about places to visit. If I need to come back again to St Ives I would book beechwood again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ruby19877891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at Beechwood after booking on the Internet. The only room left was a small double and the room was very small as was the bathroom. That said it was very comfortable. Warm welcome from the owners and lots of information on places to visit. Coastal path was a fantastic walk although hard work on the way back. St Ives is a lovely place to visit and close to drive to other attractions. Breakfast was filling and a great way to start te day. Would definitely recommend for a short stay.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
13  Thank Cate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,734 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
978 reviews
1.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
180 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood House

Address: St. Ives Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2SX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Beechwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing