We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cornwall at its best”
Review of Cornerways B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cornerways B&B
Ranked #22 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cornwall at its best”
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Well what a really great place to stay, spotless, great food, great room (Rebbeca) with excellent view over the harbour, good host in Tim, fab location within a couple of minutes walk of all that you need in St Ives. As with all accommodation the acid test, would you go back again the answer emphatically YES

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    26
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
91
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
tingley
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2010

If you are looking for the best B/B in St Ives, look no further,because we have found it.We have just had our 15th visit 26th May to 6th June,and already booked for 3 weeks Joly and August.You will observe we give 5 stars for everything. The guest house is situated just around the corner from the harbour,in a very charming square,close to all beaches,shops and the Tate Gallery.Tim and Shelly are wonderful hosts,and Debbie and Jo keep the rooms clean and tidy,and are always there to help.The rooms are tastefully decorated,beds comfortable,ensuring a good night sleep,all rooms are clean,with fresh bed linen and clean towels.All ensuite with power showers,tea and coffee making facilities.All rooms have lots of character.The dining room has individval tables,very tastefully decorated,with pictures and mirrors local artists work, which can be bought.Food is cooked yo order by Tim,full ,english,fish,vegetarian,or anything else, nicely cooked,nicly served and nicely presented.Cereals,fruit juice,fruit and home made preserves.Pleased to report the high standards continue,and we can not find anything to fault.Most visiters arrive as guests and leave as friends Geoff Kay and Charlie

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stivestingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We had a wonderful Easter break at Cornerways. Tim & Shelley bent over backwards to ensure we had all we needed for an enjoyable stay, including suggestions for places to eat and visit in St Ives and even a discount card for the Tate gallery! Our room on the top floor was full of character, really well decorated, and with a fantastic view of the harbour. The breakfast was the best I've ever had in a B&B and so well presented, it wouldn't look out of place in a Masterchef final! We had such a good time, we booked the same room for next year and can't wait to be back :-)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarryandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Three of us stayed for just one night as part of our SW Coastal Path walk. Tim Tait, his partner and staff were most welcoming to us when we arrived early and helped get us turned round for the Tate Gallery and the Grand National in quick time. Cornerways is delightful - pleasant and clean rooms and a lovely breakfasting room, with sun trap patio. The location is great in the oldest part of St Ive's, handy for everything. The breakfast menu was splendid and varied and Tim is an ace chef (also try his black pear and plum conserve!). So we went on our way to Pendeen Watch well set up and rested. Thanks Tim and all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastPathBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, UK.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We had stayed in Cornerways in February as we needed a break after Christmas and the New Year. This is always a dull time of year with the uphill run towards the lighter nights at the end of March. So we booked to go again at Easter as two nights in February are just not enough. Tim was as friendly and as bright as ever, helpful with advice where to eat in the evening. We met Shelly his partner for the first time who was just as pleasant and helpful. I used to go to India at this time of year to lift the spirits but my stay here was just as effective. We stayed in a different room this time and although we couldn’t have a sea view as they where booked it was just as pleasant and comfortable. It’s a delight to come down to breakfast in the morning with relaxed music, fine flowers and ample quality fare. Great location, great people and a guest house of exceptional quality. I have already booked my next stay and will be back to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Had a wonderful stay at Cornerways. We have been to St Ives many times but never stayed in a B & B as good as this one. Tim (the owner) made us feel very welcome from the moment we got there. Our room was beautiful with a nice view of the harbour. The location couldn't be better. Right in the heart of old St Ives and the breakfast was amazing. Especially the tomatos served with the Full English!!!

Will definately be going back!!!

Dave and Bernie

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanSurfdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2010

just got back from a short break the best bed and breakfast i have ever stayed in and i have stayed in many through my work the best breakfast you will ever have A +++++++++++++++++++++ FOR EVERYTHING CHEERS TO TIM AND STAFF ESPEICALLY FOR SAUSAGES TO TAKE HOME TIM SEE YOU IN THE SUMMER



CARL AND LISA

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlvauny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#11 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#16 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#13 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#43 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerways B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerways B&B

Property: Cornerways B&B
Address: 1 Bethesda Place, St Ives TR26 1PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerways B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your holidays with us in Downalong, a labyrinth of cobbled lanes which used to be the fisherman's quarter in the oldest part of St Ives. Cornerways was built in the 1830s and has been a Guest House for over 70 years. Only 50 yards from the harbour, beaches and restaurants, Daphne Du Maurier stayed here in the 1940's. The Tate Gallery, for which we provide complimentary tickets, and St Ives Art School are only 150 yards away. Two of our rooms overlook the harbour and bay beyond. With a modern feel that echoes the artists’ quarter in which it sits, Cornerways’ rooms have been renovated and totally redecorated over the last 7 years and all have new en-suites. All bedrooms have LCD TVs, DVD Players, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee facilities, fridges and complimentary Cornish bottled water. The 3' thick Cornish Granite walls and no passing traffic will ensure you a snug & quiet night’s sleep.Breakfast is served in the uncrowded dining room with only fresh produce being used. We also cater for vegetarians. Fresh local fish is available daily, which includes smoked salmon, local mackerel, kippers and smoked haddock. Tim & Shelley ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cornerways Hotel St Ives
Cornerways Bed And Breakfast
Cornerways B&B St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing