We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cornerways”
Review of Cornerways B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cornerways B&B
Ranked #23 of 101 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cornerways”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

just back from a weeks holiday in st ives. stayed at cornerways, so glad we did. we stayed in the "Sandra" room, at the very top, of this lovely B&B, incredible views over the harbour and beyond, the room was very comfortable and very clean. literally minutes away from everything, and at least three beaches right on top of us. Breakfast here is excellent, with several choices,you have to try Tims tomatoes !......speaking of Tim, what a lovely man, nothing is too much trouble, he made us feel very welcome and at home, thankyou Tim ! would we recomend this B&B, absoloutely, when we get the chance to stay in st ives again we will definately be staying here !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princessdebbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
92
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just returned from a Bank Holiday Weekend to St Ives, with a wonderful stay at Cornerways. Tim and Shelley were perfect hosts, and catered to our every wish. And Tim's breakfasts will be sorely missed! Hotel location is perfect for access to 3 of the major beaches, and is a 2 minute walk to 'The Island' for fantastic views. Long-stay car park is within 100m of the front door. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Excellent guest house, Tim and Shelley are so welcoming, rooms are spotless and spacious and breakfast was delicious. Will definitely stay here again, and will definitely recommend to our wedding guests.

Room Tip: Try the fruit salad........delicious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I chose Cornerways after reading all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and I can't speak more highly of it. Tim is a great host and his breakfasts are out of this world - must be the best in St Ives! I shall definitely be going back to Cornerways again and am recommending it to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 990anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our second visit to Cornerways, as we enjoyed it so much previously I wanted to take my parents to St Ives and stay here to celebrate their 50th Wedding Anniversary, We stayed in rooms Sandra and Rebecca which were absolutely gorgeous with wonderful sea views. Although Tim and Shelley were on holiday for 2 of our nights stay we were very well looked after by Sue, who made my mum's day by leaving flowers in their room on the day of their anniversary. The location is perfect and Tim's tomatoes are to die for !! All in all thank you Tim, Shelley and especially Sue for making my mum and dad's Golden Anniversary perfect !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helsbels0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Cornerways in Oct 2012. We had a wonderful stay and could not find anything bad to say about this B&B. Everyone exceedingly helpful and the breakfasts were out of this world! Cooked to perfection, lovely selection and I could have eaten the entire bowl of fruit salad by myself it was so good. The room was beautifully appointed, very clean and always stocked w coffee, tea and cream for the morning. I shall always stay at Cornerways when I visit Cornwall.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rebecca, I believe it was. The room had a pretty view of the harbor. The room had a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay ay Cornerways, although we were only staying one night, a warm welcome from Tim (Shelley was away visiting family) the room, although not quite finished, work in progress, was exactly as we had wished, clean, comfortable and with a wonderful view of the harbour and sea. Tim was very helpful with directions, car parking and recommended good pubs and restaurants and of course the breakfast was as good as we had expected and hoped for.
The location is terrific for easy walk to the centre of St Ives and the decor is very thoughtfully designed and executed to provide a very relaxing interlude
Thanks Tim

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 101 in St Ives
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 101 in St Ives
142 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#16 of 101 in St Ives
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#14 of 101 in St Ives
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 101 in St Ives
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#44 of 101 in St Ives
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerways B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerways B&B

Property: Cornerways B&B
Address: 1 Bethesda Place, St Ives TR26 1PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerways B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your holidays with us in Downalong, a labyrinth of cobbled lanes which used to be the fisherman's quarter in the oldest part of St Ives. Cornerways was built in the 1830s and has been a Guest House for over 70 years. Only 50 yards from the harbour, beaches and restaurants, Daphne Du Maurier stayed here in the 1940's. The Tate Gallery, for which we provide complimentary tickets, and St Ives Art School are only 150 yards away. Two of our rooms overlook the harbour and bay beyond. With a modern feel that echoes the artists’ quarter in which it sits, Cornerways’ rooms have been renovated and totally redecorated over the last 7 years and all have new en-suites. All bedrooms have LCD TVs, DVD Players, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee facilities, fridges and complimentary Cornish bottled water. The 3' thick Cornish Granite walls and no passing traffic will ensure you a snug & quiet night’s sleep.Breakfast is served in the uncrowded dining room with only fresh produce being used. We also cater for vegetarians. Fresh local fish is available daily, which includes smoked salmon, local mackerel, kippers and smoked haddock. Tim & Shelley ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cornerways Hotel St Ives
Cornerways Bed And Breakfast
Cornerways B&B St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing