We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break”
Review of The Olive Branch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olive Branch
Ranked #14 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Olive Branch is a Victorian house that is a clean and modern B&B a few minutes walk to the centre of St Ives. We were welcomed like old friends upon our arrival and immediately felt very at home in the house. The room and ensuite was very clean and the bed very comfortable, we had room 5 which had double opening doors with a Juliet balcony and a view of the back gardens and sea view. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. Nothing was to much trouble for our hosts. There is no road noise, as the B&B is off from the main road. A big plus is that there are parking spaces for the residents cars. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in St Ives.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GazzaAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogwoldo, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for your review, we would very much like to see you visit us again, next time you are in St Ives.
Regards
Justin, Julie & George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 207 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband & 1 visited the Olive Branch late June for 4 day break. What a lovely few days we had too.
The hosts were very warm & welcoming. We were offered a drink on arrival, as a way of recuperation after our long journey, which was a nice touch.
Justin gave us a good round up as to what was happening locally, advice about booking tables in restaurants as St Ives gets very busy in high season and not forgetting the advice on the seagulls, who will share your Cornish pasties & ice-creams if given the chance!
The house is a lovely 3 storey Edwardian terrace, our room was situated on the 3rd floor, which had sea views towards the island.
The room offers tea/coffee making facilities, a hair drier, towels and ample socket space for phone charging etc, it was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Having on-sight parking is big plus point.
Breakfast was served between 8 & 9am with a good selection of options on offer.
A nice touch was given, when we'd left a half bottle of wine in the room, the next day 2 wine glasses were added.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back soon.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogwoldo, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Spent a long weekend at the Olive Branch during July. The owners Julie and Justin, who had only recently taken over, were warm and welcoming hosts. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and our room was bright and fresh with a side sea view and the bed very comfortable There were plenty of options on offer for breakfast. The 'full English', which we opted for, was well cooked and very substantial. With the town and beach only five minutes walk away and on site parking, the Olive Branch offered us everything we needed for a relaxing break. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidbelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogwoldo, Manager at The Olive Branch, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a find! This particular little gem is great value for money- the breakfasts are delicious, and the rooms are wonderfully clean and comfortable! The owner, Justin, was fantastically entertaining in addition to providing top-notch service. The other occupants were friendly too, so breakfast was always fun! I adored our room- it was just the right size, and had a nice little TV and complimentary bits and pieces. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NatashaC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogwoldo, Manager at The Olive Branch, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights recently and were given a very warm welcome by Justin and Julie – a lovely couple (and George the dog too!). The house itself is an impressive Victorian terrace in an excellent location and (importantly) included a parking space. The décor is lovely and our room was spotless and very comfortable - the breakfast was excellent too! Thanks Justin and Julie - we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogwoldo, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband brought me to St Ives for a long weekend and we stayed at The Olive Branch. The owners Justin and Julie were very friendly and had a lot of local knowledge for places to visit. The B&B was very clean and tidy, we stayed in room 3 which had views of the sea. The room was exceptionally clean and had tea/coffee making facilities, TV and hair dryer. There was plenty of choice for breakfast although we just opted for the full english, which was delicous. A major plus for this B&B is off road parking. It is also only a short walk to Portminster Beach and the town. We have already booked to go back later in the season.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogwoldo, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in early July, not long after the new owner Justin had taken over. Despite the challenges that come with taking on a new business in peak season he was very friendly and helpful and I don't think we would have known he was new to the business if he hadn't told us! We were offered a tea / coffee on arrival and given helpful tips each day about where we planned to visit and where to eat that evening - all very useful. This B&B is sited just a 5 minute walk down to the sea front and has on site parking which for us was a big bonus as many other centrally located places in St Ives didn't which would mean paying for parking on top of accommodation. The house itself is a lovely Victorian terrace house, we stayed in room 1 right at the top which had a large and comfortable bed, powerful shower and views down to the sea. No downsides that I can think of!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogwoldo, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, as and when you visit St Ives again, you must come back and see us?
Regards
Justin, Julie & George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#17 of 102 in St Ives
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
3 Porthminster
3 Porthminster
#19 of 102 in St Ives
128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#2 of 7 in Carbis Bay
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch

Address: 6 Porthminster Terrace, St Ives TR26 2DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $92 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olive Branch 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Branch is a superb holiday location in St Ives, Cornwall, just minutes from the harbour, town and 5 sandy beaches. Our Rooms We have five ensuite double rooms, four of which have sea views. Two of our double rooms can be converted to twin bedded rooms. There is also a single ensuite room. Breakfast We serve a traditional full English breakfast as well as vegetarian breakfasts and lighter options. St Ives St. Ives has a Mediterranean feel about it, with its maze of cobbled streets and alleyways, crescent shaped beaches with golden sands and turquoise sea - all set in the uniquely rugged granite landscape of West Cornwall. The holiday visitor in St Ives can find everything that they could wish for in a seaside resort. From the moment that you arrive in the town you will be stunned by the panoramic vistas that seem to greet you on every turn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Olive Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olive Branch Hotel St Ives
The Olive Branch St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing