We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, and great food”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delightful, and great food”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked our two night stay months ago from USA thru Expedia after reading reviews here - some good some bad. We received a friendly welcome from Lee, hotel clerk- barman- bellboy! We were given room 10, 1st floor up at the front, right above the front door. As we chose to leave windows open, it can be quite noisy with people speaking loudly passing by, etc. however we turned on a table fan provided which drowned most noise out. Room small but adequate. Tea & coffee making set up, nice flat screen tv, bathroom not large but sparkling & shower nice & large. Breakfast 8:30 cooked to order plus juices, fruits, coffee, tea, fresh yogurt and served with smiles. We arrived late Sunday so only Sunday roasts for dinner but both beef & pork delicious with roast potatoes, turnips, cabbage, carrots, yam & cauliflower cheese plus freshly made horseradish cream and applesauce & Yorkshire pudding. Last night, Monday, hubby had fish n chips (he said best in UK so far on our trip) & I had their Wild Mushroom Saffron Risotto. It was fabulous. Also they had a folk duo which started at 9:00pm so we feared we'd never sleep but couldn't hear them upstairs later when we retired. No, this is not a fancy place but we enjoyed it all

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanr47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    132
    42
    12
    7
See reviews for
64
210
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeside AZ
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by Lee, the bell boy, manager, bartender etc. Very help full and nice man. All the staff was help full and courteous. This is a full on pub with about 8 rooms. Rooms are small but clean and good use of space. The food in the pub was very good especially the Sunday roast. Breakfast is a full breakfast. Five minute walk from train station and two blocks from water. If you are looking for great value this is the place for you
.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Only stayed one night and not highly excited by the hotel but nothing to moan about either. The hotel is in a good location in the middle of the small town and minutes from the harbour. The pub had a good feel and was busy, the bedroom was adequate and reasonable comfortable. Slightly over priced for hotel - more a pub with rooms.

Room Tip: Parking in St Ives is difficult, we parked at the leisure centre which is only 5 min walk down the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayH301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is a charming gastro pub with an excellent set of rooms. Situated on High street ,which is at the heart of this lovely little town (might be a bit too vibey at the height of the season) Simply decorated comfortable rooms with loads of clean towels and crisp linen. The best part is the food; from a great Cornish breakfast through the delicious light lunches to a great roast on Sunday. I really enjoyed my stay here and will be back.

Room Tip: Room number 9 has a great view over the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanacshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

spent one night while exploring st ives.The hotel is bang in the centre ideal for sight seeing.However there is no parking at this hotel.I had read fellower travellers reveiws who said to park at the train station but this was all full and spent over 1 hour trying to find a space on a long stay carpark.Eventually found one way above the harbour,around a 10 minute walk to hotel.
Beware make sure you have change for machine they dont accept notes.
the hotel itself was vey nice even if room was small and basic.The cooked breakfast was excellant and all fresh.The staff were all polite and helpful.

Room Tip: have change for carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently spent a week in St Ives and found the Queen´s by chance as we had been let down badly by The Captain´s table restaurant at The Sloop Inn. They were only doing Sunday roasts that day but it was the best Sunday lunch I have ever eaten-plenty of tasty succulent beef and a variety of well cooked vegetables, beautifully served. The dessert of Lemon Posset with homemade shortbread and strawberries in a tasty sauce was very well presented.
We enjoyed the meal so much that we took friends with us a couple of days later to try out some different dishes and we were not disappointed-everything was beautifully cooked and presented and the portions just the right size. We left feeling comfortably full.
The staff were very friendly and helpful too. We ate out somewhere different every night and all of us agreed that the Queen´s came top of our list. Well done!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank robanne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in this room for one night ,and one night was more than enough. We climbed up four flights of stairs to reach the room, and wish we hadn't bothered. The food was disappointing, if that is what they mean by "Gastro Pub" give me a non Gastro pub any day.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oscarfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,615 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
921 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: High Street, St Ives TR26 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#2 Family Hotel in St Ives
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen's Hotel is a late-Georgian, three-story building in the heart of picturesque St Ives. 5 mins from the harbour and beaches, we have ten en-suite bedrooms, which have been redecorated with vintage furniture and Cornish artwork hanging on the freshly painted white walls, plus sparkling new bathrooms with new showers. Downstairs is a relaxed and friendly bar with delicious pub food that was awarded an AA rosette in 2011. Everything is prepared on the premises - the menu is chalked up on the board daily using the finest local, seasonal ingredients Cornwall has to offer. Bread baked daily. Homemade ice-cream. Local beers. Warming fire. Children are very welcome: upstairs a camp bed and a travel cot are available to borrow, all windows have black-out blinds; downstairs there are boardgames + toys in the light and airy bar, baby-changing, and children's portions available. The harbour front and Fore Street are under five minutes walk away. Selected by Alastair Sawdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing