We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, cosy, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable, cosy, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at the Queens hotel which is actually a pub with rooms upstairs. The hotel staff is really friendly and helpful, they dragged our suitcases upstairs :). Our room was spacey enough, with coffee and tea provided in the room. The breakfast is English breakfast which you can order as a whole or just some parts of it. We also had dinner here once which was also really good quality.
The hotel is located very centrally and also close to a parking lot (you can't park on the street in front of the hotel) so it is very convenient for getting around.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oszorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    132
    40
    12
    7
See reviews for
63
203
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband booked this hotel and trip to St Ives as a suprise for my birthday. The hotel was lovely, the room we had was on the top floor and we could see the sea from our window! The rooms were spotless and the bed was rediculously comfy! The breakfast is included in the price of the room and it consisted of fresh fruit salad & yoghurt, a selection of cereals and a full english breakfast which was delicious!! We also had lunch as soon as we had checked in and unpacked, and we were even impressed with our sandwich which came with amazing home made chips! They also do a great pint of Tribute! It doesnt have parking but we parked at the railway station just up the road which is long stay (£6.40 for 24 hrs). I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably price, clean and central hotel in St Ives.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 7 if its available as its the biggest room, on the top floor and you can see the sea fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in rooms 5 & 7 at the Queens Hotel in early May. Lovely rooms, tastefully decorated (seaside theme), spotlessly clean, comfy beds, crisp white linen. The food (dinner & breakfast) was great and the staff helpfull and friendly. Great location in town. Just great! Couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Thanks.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you want to be located in the heart of St Ives this hotel is perfect. We had a lovely room located on the top floor that involved climbing several flights of stairs. The hotel had a relaxing bar and restaurant area serving a contemporary food. Accomodation in St Ives is not cheap by any stretch, but the Queens Hotel represented good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainze75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and were welcomed by all of the staff whom we found very friendly. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Our breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent, a good start to our day!! The location is perfect, we parked our car about 5 minutes away and did not find this a problem. Would definitely stay her again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyf834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Everything was wonderful. We had 2 rooms on top floor for ourselves and our 2 daughters. Most comfortable beds we stayed in all vacation and lovely, clean well appointed rooms . Staff was extremely friendly and helpful with everything , going above and beyond to ensure that we had a fabulous stay. Location was ideal, about 2 blocks in from waterfront with shopping ,restaurants and all this wonderful town has to offer right outside our door. Inexpensive long term parking was available at the rail station a 5 minute walk away. Our only regrets were that we didn't get to eat dinner in the cozy pub because the chef was away the 2 weekday nights we were there and that we didn't have more time to spend in beautiful St Ives. We look forward to staying here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS13524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here one night and we loved it. The staff were incredibly friendly and made our very short stay very enjoyable. Rooms are incredibly clean and made a very comfortable nights sleep. Thank you! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beebee246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: High Street, St Ives TR26 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Ives
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen's Hotel is a late-Georgian, three-story building in the heart of picturesque St Ives. 5 mins from the harbour and beaches, we have ten en-suite bedrooms, which have been redecorated with vintage furniture and Cornish artwork hanging on the freshly painted white walls, plus sparkling new bathrooms with new showers. Downstairs is a relaxed and friendly bar with delicious pub food that was awarded an AA rosette in 2011. Everything is prepared on the premises - the menu is chalked up on the board daily using the finest local, seasonal ingredients Cornwall has to offer. Bread baked daily. Homemade ice-cream. Local beers. Warming fire. Children are very welcome: upstairs a camp bed and a travel cot are available to borrow, all windows have black-out blinds; downstairs there are boardgames + toys in the light and airy bar, baby-changing, and children's portions available. The harbour front and Fore Street are under five minutes walk away. Selected by Alastair Sawdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing