We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcome stay”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Never been to St ives before , but must say the stay was very pleasent. The owner and staff were very friendly and were happy to help in all our needs for our stay. The hotel has a newly refurbished pub which was again very warm and welcome.
I would highly recommend this if you our looking for a a pleasent and friendly place to put your head down..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 380 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

Th hotel has had a successful make over, with a bright comfortable bar with a corner that was ideal to catch up on the tennis. The hotel is ideally placed to explore the town and St Ives as usual shows the best and worst of the English weather. The rooms were fresh and good value for money and the breakfast all you need to set you up for a busy day.
Thankyou a lovely few days

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMK010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I arrived on Friday afternoon for the weekend. We had to park the car a couple of minutes away which cost £6.30 for 24hrs, as the Hotel has no parking facilities. Upon arrival to the Hotel I was confussed on entry. The main door to the Hotel is also the entrance of the pub. I looked around to see where we had to book in as no reception sign was visable. A member of staff did notice and approached us.
We were escorted to our room (4) up two flights of stairs to a spacious room with a king sized bed and large bathroom (shower only). Both were of a high standard of cleanliness. The room is to the rear of the building and very quiet.
Unfortunately we were told that their was a problem within the kitchen due to a brake down to the gas supply but breakfast in the morning would be ok. After a good night sleep down for breakfast but alas no supply of gas to the kitchen. We were offered a choice of cereal and given a full clear explaination of the problem and cash to go to a local cafe for a cooked breakfast. This was well received. Still no evening meals but the next day a full cooked breakfast was supplied.
The staff within the Hotel were attentive and polite. Overall a pleasant experience.
Recommendations:
A sign displaying the reception would assist all visitors and add to the experience.
Mirrors in the bedroom would also help. We were told that the owners have this in hand.
Maybe within the bathroom a box of tissues could be supplied.
As a marketing point maybe offer free parking if staying for the weekend.
Overall an enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff551673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This place has had a makeover lately, is under new management and they've got it running beautifully. Having read some of the bad reviews on TA I felt compelled to set the record straight! It is indeed now 'a gem'.

The pub downstairs is a great spot for a decent meal, probably one of the nicest town pubs i've been to in Cornwall with a 'quality not quantity' style menu which reads more like a list of specials - you can tell the chef takes great pride in is work and it's great if you like a expertly done, hearty english style meal. This hotel/pub is in the centre of town and a short walk away from other restaurants and pubs, The Tate, Barbara Hepworth Museum and a stones throw from the sea front. If you don't stay at the hotel, the food at the pub is worth the visit.

The room I stayed in (no 5 at the back) was nice and quiet, bed linen all new, actually everything was new so it all had a very good feel to it and was nice and clean. It was airy, and tastefully decorated in minimal white with a few nice touches. Kind of like the food menu where they've got all the essentials done to a very high standard for this sort of priced hotel.

The staff were friendly and keen to help. I had no trouble connecting to wi-fi. Parking was a bit of a pain but I found a good car park nearby at the top of Bedford Rd, worth noting as parking in St Ives is a nightmare, especially in the summer.

All in all a lovely spot and very well placed for accessing St Ives. It's bang in the middle of it! Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moe247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed here for a short break with our 6 month old son. Having visited St Ives many times we were pleased to find such a hidden gem, great food, comfortable rooms in a simple Cornish style and reasonably priced great food. Would recomend as great access to the town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mshort78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

The service was friendly and helpful if slightly thin on the ground. One person serving behind the bar and one person serving breakfast.Therefore, be patient.
The rooms are newly decorated ( you can still smell the paint) to a good standard but very simple. There was no WiFi in the room and the TV signal was weak.There was also no hot water until I asked for it and the shower needed more power.
The menu is standard gastro pub food and the breakfast was standard but lovely.Freshly baked bread is a nice touch.

The hotel is right in the heart of St Ives so there is no hotel parking. The railway station car park is the best bet at £6.50 for 24hours.

Generally, the hotel is a comfortable bolt hole which has just been refurbished in an attempt to bring in new punters after many bad reviews. I felt we paid for the refurbishment at £90 a night when £70 would have been more fitting to the standard of the hotel. Nice bar and food but basic and overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Queens Hotel it's perfect for a weekend in St Ives, the rooms were light and airy and simply but tastefully furnished, much nicer than places we've stayed previously. We were visiting friends with the kids and the pub was great for young ones, they loved the food, which was home cooked and delicious. The marmalade ice cream was a favourite. I would heartily recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,734 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: High Street, St Ives TR26 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Ives
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $63 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen's Hotel is a late-Georgian, three-story building in the heart of picturesque St Ives. 5 mins from the harbour and beaches, we have ten en-suite bedrooms, which have been redecorated with vintage furniture and Cornish artwork hanging on the freshly painted white walls, plus sparkling new bathrooms with new showers. Downstairs is a relaxed and friendly bar with delicious pub food that was awarded an AA rosette in 2011. Everything is prepared on the premises - the menu is chalked up on the board daily using the finest local, seasonal ingredients Cornwall has to offer. Bread baked daily. Homemade ice-cream. Local beers. Warming fire. Children are very welcome: upstairs a camp bed and a travel cot are available to borrow, all windows have black-out blinds; downstairs there are boardgames + toys in the light and airy bar, baby-changing, and children's portions available. The harbour front and Fore Street are under five minutes walk away. Selected by Alastair Sawdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing