We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aye Carumba”
Review of Blas Burgerworks

Blas Burgerworks
Ranked #11 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Aye Carumba”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stopped in here for a light lunch. Loved the decor and friendliness of the staff. Its a shared tables affair a bit like Belgo or Wagamma, very laid back and comfy.

We didn't want much and just ordered a burger each, my other half has a chicken burger with lemon and tarragon and I went with the Chilli burger.

Maybe the best burgers we have ever had - truly excellent

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Righ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    227
    65
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Changed our views on burgers.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We don't like burgers. We have never ever before chosen to go to a burger restaurant but having seen so any rave reviews in our holiday flat guestbook, we decided to give it a try and we liked it so much we went back the following night as well. We had the specials both times and they changed our opinion of burgers! The restaurant is tiny and fills up very fast. You can't reserve seats for parties of less than 6 so you may have to wait. It has lovely old wooden communal tables which add to the atmosphere in our view as you have to be sociable. Don't expect beautifully laid tables either - cutlery is held in large metal jugs in the centre of each table and the chips are served in tin mugs! Adds to the character. The staff are good and the kitchen is open to the restuarant so you can see your meal being cooked. Be aware, however, that although its a burger restaurant it is not fast food, each meal is cooked to order and in the event it can be quite slow when busy - which suited us, gave us time to unwind and chat. It is not cheap either - but you get what you pay for and here you get great quality, perfectly cooked, fresh local food. Food wise, the first night we had beefburgers with cheese, rocket, aioli and a hot pepper sauce and the second night beefburgers with smoked cheese, caramelised onions and smoky mayonnaise. The burgers were rare, which we liked - though if you want your burger well-cooked, just ask! We shared chips and garlic mayonnaise both nights. We also tried a pud - lemon posset with clotted cream ice cream - which was lovely. Our daughter is still laughing at us, as being committed burger-haters, we can't stop talking about how good this restuarant is!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorsetbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

After a long day at the Eden project, a good burger and chips certainly was needed. Fantastic burgers, nice little restaurant and would definitely recommend a visit. Try the nachos - lovely

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheWardSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
133 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good choice for veggies :-)”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Quite lucky that we stumbled on this place as it is slightly tucked away from the main drag.

Burgers are great, several choices even for veggies.

Communal tables but that wasn't a problem and shared a table with a couple of German tourists.

Only grumble was that the prices are quite high, £10 for a veggie burger and fries were an extra charge, which is why I haven't given it 5 star rating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good burgers, Great Brownie!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This burger place is great for St.Ives although I have had better from similar places back home. Small and inimate with a good atmosphere. The staff were good but not the best, one was a bit short when asked a qu about the deal but another was very friendly. No cutlery or napkins on our table so had to get them from another table. In the good food guide but not quite up to the std. As other restaurants I have tried in the guide. The warm brownie for dessert was fantastic. Overall good value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murrayv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blas Burgerworks also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 
St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Blas Burgerworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing