We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a favourite in St Ives - good views and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Grill - CLOSED

Ocean Grill
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
399 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Always a favourite in St Ives - good views and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Don't be put off by the steps the little cafe restaurant is a great informal friendly experience. Sitting on the terrace is a great place to eat. Food is good fish and pasta oriented with Asian influence.
The service is friendly. Recommended.Our 4th visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    135
    22
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banstead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife & I recently returned from St Ives having dined in Ocean Grill a couple of times. It always lives up to our expectations with service and food quality and maintains a great holiday atmosphere.
We look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

First visit was by chance, it was the nearest restaurant when it started raining on our first day in St Ives. The exterior is not very impressive from street level, but when you go upstairs it is light and modern in style, with several outside tables on the balcony.
Lunch menu offered light options, I had a small mussels and OH had fish cakes. Sauces were light and full of flavour.
Returned another day for dinner - my hake with vierge sauce was exceptionally good, comparing well with more 'aspirational' restaurants. Good wine, friendly and efficient service, and reasonable prices- what more could you want?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank esbe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good service, great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had an amazing meal at the ocean grill last week (September 2013). Good range of foods on the menu -- we initially chose the place as they had a good kid's menu. I had two starters for a main: tomato and basil soup and goats cheese bruschetta and they were absolutely delicious: fresh and flavourful. It was seriously some of the best soup I've ever eaten! Husband had fish and chips which also looked delicious -- it had the lightest, crispest batter. View was lovely and there was excellent choice for the kiddos. We did find the service slightly slow but we put this down to laid back Cornish life, and it gave us more time to admire the spectacular views across the harbour. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CountessofCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We rang ahead of our break to book the restaurant for our daughter's 18th birthday and found the staff very accommodating, decorating the table and having fizz waiting for our arrival...sadly the meal didn't fully live up to our previous experience...with three out of our 8 meals needing amendments, but the service was great and we had a great time. The staff adequately compensated us for the below average meals and we will return again another time. A good time was had by all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Grill also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing