We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No need for Rick Stein”

The Beach Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“No need for Rick Stein”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Someone at this place knows how to cook fish and chips to top quality. Prices are reasonable the quality is superb. Great view of Harbour Beach right on the main drag. The fish was in best batter you can eat and chips just right. Glass of Chardonnay to wash it down all for less than £25 for two. Lovely evening. Staff also know their job.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    199
    58
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On our second visit to St. Ives we had dinner again in The Beach Restaurant....always a must visit! The staff are very friendly and welcoming, whether you have booked a table or just take a chance there's one free. If there isn't they will seat you as soon as they can but make you feel welcome as you wait. Food is home cooked, very well presented and delicious. The crumble of the day is really worth keeping room in you belly for!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna_35_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful view over the harbour and good fresh fish selection.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The busy staff were warm and welcoming and we managed to get in without a reservation on the busy August bank holiday. Great wine and lovely views over the harbour, but I found my fish and pasta dish a little dry and had to pay £1.95 for some salsa to liven it up abit. Perhaps I'm just not a fan of the business model of having to pay to make your dish perfect , that's what I expect to be served in the first place. But the best squid starter I've ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing, sussex uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chef must have had an off night”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Ate here on the 29th and have to say it was a poor experience. The staff were fine but the food and slowness of the service made it a disappointing night. My wife ordered the sea bass with crust which was ok if a bit dry and uninspiring. I had the fillet steak and when it eventually arrived after a 40 minute wait was dry and overcooked almost to the point of cremation. Said as much to the waitress who obviously had had similar thoughts (so why serve it?). They took it back to have another go and some 15 minutes later another steak arrived, This at least was better cooked but again dry and lacking in taste. Didnt take up the offer of a dessert as had had enough by this point. Asked for a bit of discount as none was offered and received some money off the bill. Positives: Nice restaurant in a good location with a decent menu. Good waitress staff with a friendly attitude Negatives: Chef needs re-training in how to cook steak (he must have realised it was vastly overcooked) Slowness of service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank skymanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top quality fish”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Overall a superb dining experience. Really wide variety of fish and all cooked to your own preference. I had an eexquisite monk fish.
Would recommend to anyone, just make sure you book

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing