We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Fair Price and Great Service”

The Beach Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fair Price and Great Service”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have just returned from a four night visit to St Ives and I did promise to write a review for the Beach Restaurant where we ate last Monday. For £44 we had two fantastic meals two superb deserts and a very nice bottle of wine, which I thought was good value. That said the real star was the lady who served us,Donna was so pleasant and helpful I honestly thought she must be the owner, though as it turned out she worked there usually behind the bar but had asked to waitress for the evening. Her customer service was first class.
One last piece of advice to anyone, wherever you go in St Ives you will need to book in advance if you want to eat after 7.30 in the evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    199
    58
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings..........”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We've been to St Ives many time and this was the first visit to Beach restaurant. We had a great table and looked forward to sampling some great fish. There were no cheeseburgers on the kids menu so we had to pay full price from adult menu. My husband ordered grilled sea bass with Moroccan spice crust, duck fat potatoes and roasted root veg. I went for the seafood stew. My husband was massively disappointed with the size of his portion of fish and the spiced crust was merely a dusting and lacking in flavour. The potatoes and veg were also not up to scratch. We joked that he may have to call at the chippy on the way home! The lady at the next table looked wide-eyed at her portion of the same fish when it arrived. She obviously thought the same and, actually, her kids' fish and chips were bigger than her meal! However, my seafood stew was great and there was a lot of it so I shared with my husband. A real let down overall though and expensive for the portion size.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ronnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“monkfish heaven”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

arrived in st Ives on a Saturday afternoon hungry and tired .saw the welcoming poster and went upstairs to discover a beautiful airy and packed restaurant we were escorted to a lovely window table and our order was taken right away i had monk fish in a beautiful sauce with chips perfectly cooked .my partner in crime had the fish pie which was eaten with relish .this restaurant is one of the best we have had the pleasure of dining in while visiting Cornwall. this summer

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liamrooney55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
584 reviews
507 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great View and Location, Nice Service, Food OK”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very welcoming even on a very busy day, kind to a number of families with small children as well as to us. Great sea view and location on the wharf. Food at lunch was ok, less impressive than others have reported.

Would rather try pastries at a bakery next time, looking for something special to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GianlucaMarcellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
201 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“If you love fish....”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I came here after reading all the great comments on TA and I wasn't disappointed. The fish was really fresh and delicious, the service was very good and the view is lovely. I would say, though, that it doesn't pay to get there late as a few things were off the menu when we got there at about 9pm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rivolese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing