We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family restaurant”

The Beach Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice family restaurant”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Enjoyed a very nice lunch here last month. The restaurant is upstairs and gives nice views over the beachfront. Food was good and service was excellent - very friendly, and they even washed up our baby's plate and cutlery for us when we finished.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dan_eyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    199
    58
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“very sad that this restaurant has gone downhill.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have been going to The Beach Restaurant for years. We always go for the fish/seafood chowder. We normally go a few times during the holiday but not this time the soup was so bland. The service is still good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank nicole259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding mussels the highlight of our meal”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This first-floor restaurant is well located overlooking the pretty harbour. Eating at the Beach Restaurant is well suited to families and larger groups. It's bright and bustling, with a straightforward menu to match.

Service was good, both effective and friendly. We only wanted a single course each and a couple of glasses of wine; what we got for £40.20 was good value for money.

My large plate of mussels were excellent: plump, juicy and not overcooked with a delicious sauce. My wife had chicken wrapped in pancetta which was less successful: unevenly cooked and generally dry. The salad was freshly prepared and nicely dressed. The wine was perfectly OK.

Fish and seafood seems to be a better option than meat. But overall it was a reasonable meal for the money and we were generally satisfied ... but not thrilled.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After arriving lateish and after being turned away (quite rudely) at a few other restaurants, we were welcomed in at The Beach and given a great table, with the waitress considerately giving us a table for 4 so we could both sit facing the harbour and fantastic view.
Good business sense, and great customer service.
The food was delicious and fantastic value.
You get the sense that some places in St Ives get complacent in their attitude towards customers as they have a never ending stream of visitors, but not here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jotter369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“terrible”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we paid nearly £20 for frozen chips and fish which had not been boned or skinned.
the staff were very friendly but food poor!views terrific but having tall backs on chairs spoilt view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing