We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$108
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$358
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$393
$327
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chy-An-Albany(St Ives)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveler rating
159
223
119
52
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
223
119
52
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidaycoach drivernational holidaysentertainment areasea viewshearings groupevening entertainmentives bayweekend breaksuperior roommobility problemspublic areasbeds were very comfortablesingle roomvisited this hotellong journeyoverlooking the beach
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 599 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Three of use went for a weekend break at Easter

The hotel was clean and comfortable. Meals were very good with lots of choice. The staff were great and couldn't do enough for us. We paid a bit extra for a sea view which was well worth it.

Hotel a bit dated, but for the money paid really good value.

A comfortable and friendly place, well worth considering if you are going to St. Ives

Room Tip: Get a sea view if possible. Sunrise over the bay is well worth it
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for your favourable comments, I will pass these on to all the staff. The hotel is having a lot of refurbishment work going on in public areas in October and more bedrooms also. So why not book for next Easter and you will be able to view the changes for yourself. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

just bak from weekend stay at bay st ives hotel. it was brilliant really enjoyed it. value for money was unreal staff friendly meals really good. shearings were great company to go with never used them before but would definetly go with them again. hotel does need updating but that a minor thing. would definetly go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: request a seview we were very lucky we didnt ask for one. it was added bonus when we got our room and saw the sea view stunning.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jordan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Glad to here that you enjoyed your break in St Ives. Later this year we are having major refurbishment work being carried out in public areas plus more bedrooms so exciting times are ahead. It will be great to welcome you back again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

i have just returned from a very wet 4 days to st ives. the best part of the break was our hotel. yes its looking shabby in places mainly the stairs and landing and entrance but our room clean warm and modern on the 2nd floor. this was a problem for my sister. our side of the hotel didnit have a lift. so if you have problems climbing stairs its worth a mention. i was ok . we enjoyed the food. on 2 nights i had a salad which was lovely. all the staff we spoke to where very pleasent. i really enjoyed sitting in the lounge looking at the view. we where offered by coach driver trip to penzance for £8. dont bother its a dump. all closed up and nothing to do on a sunday. we went by bus only 30mins away. came back on the next bus. the centre of st ives is a lovely walk into and takes about 12mins but longer coming back uphill. again not aproblem for me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pottypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

The hotel is made up of two sides one side is served with a lift the other is not, requests can be made however the company also have a system in place where you can secure a room number when booking for a £10.00 charge, this can be used to tailor make your holiday.
The salads are great I agree I will pass on your comments to the chef.
The sun is shining brightly as I write this so come back and see us St Ives without the rain summer is on the way.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed March 24 to March 28 with national holidays. We paid extra for a sea view which was worth it for the view of the beach. the food was good with plenty of options and our waiter Zoltan was excellent. There is only a small lift and just about all the floorboards creek, but on the whole we would definetly go back. St Ives itself is lovely, the only drawback everything is on an incline. We went on the train to St Erth and its a lovely run out and takes only 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heisenberg1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for your favourable comments and I will pass on your thanks to Zoltan. It would be great to welcome you back to St Ives where today the sun is shining.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Came back last mon from this hotel after the long weekend break lovely hotel fantastic meals and our waitress Lucie was very polite and very efficient, lovely warm room and very clean towels changed every day we will come back but will upgrade to a sea view room, the only thing we didn't like and it was only in Friday night when we went to bed early as we had travelled all day and was tired but unfortunately our room no 100 was directly above the stage area and the act that was on liked to play status quo very loud, the act that was on on sat Adam was an excellent entertainer, drinks are very overpriced so on Sunday we went into st Ives, we went on a shearings break and a trip to Penzance I would say was not worth the £7.50 we paid as most of it was shut it being a Sunday and he only gave us 1hr at st michaels mount so didn't have time to go upto the top also the driver we had I found to be very rude quite a few times people spoke to him and he totally ignored them all in all a great break we will be back with shearings just hope we get a different driver.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank jesstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you are thinking of coming back. Please give the hotel a call and we can do the booking whether by coach or car and we can tailor make your holiday.
With reference to the coach driver I will pass your comments on to the traffic department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews