We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, with views overlooking Porthminster Beach; however the hotel is in need of modernisation and is a little dated. The rooms are adequate, but the bathroom in the room we were in is in need of some TLC, with old wallpaper that is peeling off in places, and there was patches of damp in the bathroom too. The food is good with a reasonable choice on the menu every night, and the portions are quite generous; the breakfast is self-service for the cereal/juices etc., then a cooked breakfast is served at the table. The dining rooms are big but the tables are too close together, and it is difficult to move between them without disturbing other diners.

One thing that sets this hotel apart from others we have stayed in is the quality of the staff. The reception staff are realy friendly and helpful; nothing is too much trouble for them and it was a pleasure dealing with them. The waiters and waitresses are equally as good as the reception staff, the waitress we had was fast and efficient and was always smiling. I can recommend this hotel for a short break for anybody who is fairly mobile; for anybody less mobile this is not a good place to stay. It is on a hill and there is no wheelchair ramp to the entrance.

Room Tip: Choos a room with a sea view, the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topdog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

The staff try to make anyone's stay as comfortable and friendly as possible and it appears from your comments we have achieved this.
The views overlooking Porthminster beach are stunning and we are in a good location for the beach, town and local amenities alike.
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 565 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights in September 2013. Holiday was booked with Shearings and have already complained to them for using this hotel. Room was dirty with old beds. Curtains falling off rail, mould in windowsills, broken bath panel, dirty carpets. The rooms you see advertised are nothing like you are given!!! Having spent over £1000 for this holiday we were very disappointed in what we ended up with.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DENISE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

As you have stated you have already made your comments known to Shearings and they have dealt with this.
I believe that we are approachable at the hotel and if there was a problem that we can address then given the opportunity we do. I do not believe the room to be dirty, tired maybe. There is a refurbishment programme in place but then Rome was not built in a day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

When traveling to a hotel used by coach companies I always lower my expectations. After all the price is lower! Well, not in this case! The hotel has wonderful views of the sea. We could hear the waves while laying in bed. The room, as was the rest of the hotel, was clean and pleasant. Our meals were delicious and the amount of food was more than enough. The chef was probably busy with the amount of people in, he did forget items of the meal. The tuna salad arrived without coleslaw on two occasions which made it dry. An egg was missing on the Wednesday and finally my breakfast kipper had no parsley on the last morning. Yes, minor points but all part of the holiday experience. However, the customer service here is exemplary. A smiling, Good Morning from staff, a joke or two from several as well. I can't praise the head receptionist, Caroline, enough. This woman is amazing and will sort any problem.
I would recommend this hotel to any fairly mobile person. It is on a hill. The lift is slow and small and there are stairs to negotiate. It is Shearings Hotel so generally the clientele will be stereotyped. Wonderful!

Room Tip: A high sea view room is lovely. I did spot two of these with doors onto a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxreisexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please give the hotel a call when you wish to book next.
Its good to hear that you were happy with your stay and that the staff helped to make it.
I will certainly speak with the chefs about the points raised and thank you for bringing to my attention.
I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed two nights there in April 2013 with group of friends. Our ages are between 35 and 45. Already at the lounge when entering the hotel there is a bad smell. Reception staff were friendly, showed us around in the hotel but charged us 50p for a bad quality photo copy of city map which we requested.
Our rooms were facing a backstreet so the view was not spectacular. If you pay extra, you will get a room with sea view. There was another bad smell in the room, propably due to the old, dirty carpet. Bathroom was ok and clean. We stayed in a twin room with my friend.
On our room price was included breakfast and "three course dinner" as it was advertised. When entering the dining room we saw that the average age of other guests was around 70 years. Felt almost hilarious about eating in such a company. As a starter I chose prawn cocktail. I received tiny little plastic cup with about 3 smallest ever, obviously frozen prawns and some lettuce leaves. My main course was chicken breast and when I got it, it looked like the worst cooked, tasteless chicken breast I have ever seen. I sent the plate back and requested another option which was chicken curry. That was again pretty tasteless, small pot of curry and watery, tasteless rice. I don't even remember what dessert was, propably completely tasteless as well. As a breakfast, there was orange juice, yoghurt and conserved peaches and other fruits from tin. Cereals too. Staff gave our toast bread on the tables, bread was already cold when I got it. Cooked option was English breakfast in mini size, being quite alright.
We decided to skip that "fabulous" dinner on the second evening and went to the city to some nice fish restaurant.
This hotel with bad smelling rooms and lounge, completely dated rooms and furniture and tasteless food is obviously targeted for 70+ coach traveller groups. Only plus was the location within walking distance from city centre and the beach.

Room Tip: If you pay some extra you will get a room with spectacular view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

As you stayed in April and it is now November it is hard to pass comments on your review.
I would however say that we have a wide selection of cereals for starters for breakfast, grapefruit, prunes, melon, oranges followed by a full English or kippers and more.
The comments from those leaving today have said only positives about the food.
The hotel always when possible has the front doors wide open to allow the fresh air to circulate so to say that it smells I find strange.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed in a room with a fantastic view but the room had little ventilation.

This is an old hotel which needs major refurbishment or complete rebuilding. There are a lot of stairs for the mainly elderly Shearings customer base. Food was average.A reasonable location, though.

Room Tip: ASk for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank owen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

The hotel has ongoing refurbishment work carried out, 16 bedrooms were completed this January and more to come this coming January.
The general feeling is that the food is hot and plentiful more can be offered if requestes.
The views as you say are stunning overlooking the bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel, booked through Shearings as a self drive break. The hotel is dated but our room was extremely clean and confortable and had a fabulous view of the beach below. The food was ok - breakfast being better than dinner and was served very quickly and efficiently. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Very short walk downhill from the lovely beach and town of St. Ives. We only had one complaint and that was the hotel parking which we booked and paid for before seeing the garage. The parking lines were too close together and angled very badly. My husband who is an extremely good driver could get the car into the space but then couldn;t open the door of the car to get himself out. We had to park at the station car park on the second night for this reason at an extra cost. If Shearings made the spaces normal sized and angled properly we would be happy to pay more. We would come back to this hotel but would park at the station in the future.

Room Tip: Room 36 had a great view but not for people with walking difficulties due to number of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol and D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
The views that we have our stunning from all sea view rooms. There is a lift that serves one side of the hotel only.
The weekend that you stayed was a changeover in tours and a larger number of self drives than normal stayed at the hotel. There is not usually a problem with the parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this 3 night break under the Shearings self-drive banner at a competitive cost. The hotel is owned by the Shearings group. We were expecting a dated hotel - it was that - but were pleasantly suprised by the lovely bathroom and superb view from the bedroom window. Unfortunately we had to go off (at 3:00p.m.) as the room was not ready. A minus point was being seated for all meals with another couple - without being asked!!!! This could have been very embarassing if we had not liked the other couple and had asked to be moved. With small tables it was a little cramped, and there were unused tables. A limited choice for each course was fine - starters and desserts were a little disappointing in both quantity and quality. Main courses were of a good standard with a nice assortment of vegetables each night. Fruit and cereals at breakfast were followed by a served plated breakfast. The hot meals were perfectly adequate, although served on small plates. A choice of fish was offered. Tea and coffee were generously topped up on request. For a break in St Ives this hotel has a great position. However the clientele when we visited were virtually all retired people - no children in evidence.

Room Tip: The views from rooms at the front of the hotel are excellent - however some of these rooms are fairl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinneyRose45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Shearings holidays together with Bay and Coast and Country hotels offer great deals from a Monday to Friday break to a weekend away.
We cater for all ages from tots in cots, to teenagers who like to surf the net, to walkers who love to enjoy the outdoors and those who just want to relax.
We aim to get rooms ready as early as possible however you are welcome to use the facilities in the hotel whilst waiting for your room. WIFI is now available in the lounge area so why not enjoy a coffee and cake whilst you catch up.
Tables of two are available and many are requested, it is not a problem to assist with this request.
The company has a rolling plan with refurbishing so its great to see the changes as they develop, the one thing that will not change is the great views we have overlooking Porthminster beach.
Thank you for writing this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $61 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing