We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok for a weekend”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Ok for a weekend (just). Breakfast is served up until 9am even on a Sunday. No mention of this in the room book or card. We missed out ! Only 6 (+2 disabled) car spaces for 85 rooms. Prebook only. Alternative is a while away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisGough30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
The hotel has a garage to the rear of the hotel which caters for 16 spaces plus the 6 that are available at the front of the hotel. The hotel generally caters for three coaches and a number of self drive guests. This particular weekend saw the change in our tour pattern which meant that rooms were sold on lateroom.com and a great deal was to be had for bed and breakfast. We had a number of self drive customers also in who had pre booked car parking so we did not have space for all the extra bookings although we managed to park some.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    200
    101
    40
    34
See reviews for
61
308
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked this last minute to catch some sun at the end of our stay in Cornwall. We found an excellent deal and were given a lovely sea view room. The staff were all really friendly, the room was clean and pleasant (the view stole the show though!) and the hotel seemed to have lots of conveniences with a coffee shop, bar, restaurant and nice touches in the room. Great breakfast too. This hotel was great value for money, it isn't the most luxurious or freshly decorated (I think a lot of the customers are probably older coach trippers) but I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cloudnine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Shearings have some great deals available at the moment so keep your eyes peeled. St Ives is a great place to stay whatever the weather.
The hotel is in a great location and has something to cater for everyone, from the coffee shop with WIFI to evening entertainment and bingo.
Thank you for posting your favourable comments, please do come back and see us again and see the further changes to be made in January 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth uk
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

wow what an incredible place. our second visit to this hotel and what a brilliant Christmas we had. Made some fantastic friends and put on at least six pounds in weight with all of the delicious food. Entertainment and staff were all excellent, hotel manager worked herself to the bone to make Christmas a special treat. well done and thank you.

Room Tip: upgrade to superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KarenhPlymouthuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Christmas is just around the corner and we are already making plans for this year. I have been making sure that Caroline ( reception) gets the Santa outfit ready and she may even make an addition to her many hats.
Its good to know that you made a number of friends during your stay as many people do. Many of them are returning again this Christmas.
Don t forget that we are doing TURKEY AND TINSEL breaks from 28.10.13 so why not let Christmas come early.
Thank you for taking the time to write this fab review, hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this Shearing hotel last week and had a pleasant surprise. The room was spacious and clean, the restaurant was clean and the food excellent. The reception staff were courteous and well informed, so everything ran smoothly. The waiting on staff in the restaurant were well attentive and good. The hotel was full so the staff were really working hard and doing a good job. There was one drawback with the hotel, it was at the top of a hill, and a bit of a trek from the town. We were in a sea view room at the front of the hotel and the views were very good. A walk every morning on the beach gave an appetite. Well worth another visit.

Room Tip: Superior room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank staffysapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
The team here at the St Ives Bay work hard to ensure holiday enjoyment and when you work in such a beautiful place with stuuning views it makes the job easier.
As I have said many times before the views are stunning whatever the season.
The walk into St Ives is down hill and we do have taxi cards for anyone who wishes to use one for making their way back to the hotel. St Ives Cars 01736 799200 is one that we use. Once down on Porthminster beach a paddle in the clear blue waters is a must.
Hope to see you again in the near furure, thank you for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was almost put off this hotel by some of the previous reviews, but needing a room in August (when I had left it quite last-minute) I decided to go for it.

I was pleasantly surprised! The worst thing that you could say about the hotel is that it's a little tired looking, in terms of some of the decor - not in terms of cleanliness. All the staff were really lovely and welcoming, we were very kindly upgraded to a sea-view room - and I would definitely say that it's worth the extra money to get a sea-view room! As there is only the train station (on a lower level) between you and the sea the views are fantastic!

The location is great too, directly above one beach, and a lovely short stroll to all the main restaurants and pubs of St Ives.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1SoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Donna and her team work hard to keep the hotel clean and she will be pleased to hear these comments. As I have mentioned before the hotel had room refurbished this January and will do again this coming January, little by little we are following the plan to get all rooms completed. As you say there is a difference between tired and dirty.
The staff always try to be cheerful as I feel that they can make the holiday for many.
Thanks for taking the time to write this review and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Avoid this hotel if you can . the room my friend and i had being room 33 was filthy. Net curtain covered in bird poo and window sill about 1/4" in poo .after complaining the next day having been on trip we opened room door to be knocked back with the strong smell of old fashioned lead paint ,Yes it had been painted the net removed and washed in a fashion, but still looked very old and gray . big ridges in the gray carpet ,damp patch on ceiling over the bed .the shower room was nicely tiled but smelt very damp .we bought fresh air spray to rid it but to no avail .All in all a good Holiday spoil ,t by bad hotel . The food was ok but we ate out twice. as it was poor portions only big anough for a small child and wasnt very nice ,SORRY ,but this Hotel is a Big No NO . We had 39 steps to clime each time to get to room ,This holiday was booked in 2012 so did exspect better service and cost 530 quid.

Room Tip: pay more to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
The hotel is made up of two sides one side has a lift and one does not. Requests can be made at the time of booking for a room near the lift if required.
Room 33 is a room on the second floor not served with the lift. You reported some issues to reception which were address and yes the window area was painted whilst you were out on an excursion, the paint used was egg shell not lead paint as you thought as the one that we use has very little odour and dries within four hours. There is no damp in this room and the bleach that we use can give off a strange odour but not one of damp.
The food portions are in my opinion and that of many of the guests adequate and not child like. If any guests wishes to have more they only have to ask and this will be served.
As I am writing this a lady has just commented on the food saying that it is superb, two other regular travellers with Shearings have said that they love coming here and it is one of their favourite hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Ives hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Pewsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent a fab 8 days at the bay with shearings 31st aug..7th sep.....the staff were friendly and helpful the hotel was clean and the meals nice...our driver Steve was super. The excursions were fab and we saw lots of lovely places including the lovely and very scenic Isles of Scilly ....st ivies itself is beautiful and it was well worth the extra for a sea view. I can see now why people go back year after year st ivies we will return one day and shearings see you next year:))....

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
St Ives whatever the weather is beautiful. Its great to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Steve, he certainly gives a very informative tour of the area, I will pass on your comments to him. Many people return year on year and still enjoy the quaint area of St Ives and Cornwall. It appears from what you say you are hooked on St Ives so we will look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future. Shearings have some great deals available at the moment.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Property: Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing