We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freezing! Noisy floorboards from above kept me awake.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Freezing! Noisy floorboards from above kept me awake.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in May, no heating on and first room I was put in smelt damp. Had to pay for upgrade but room still freezing. Given tiny heater on complaining but this had little effect. Ladies on reception lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LittleMimiE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
The weather here in May has certainly cheered up from the winter months. We have had the heating on timed so that it warms the rooms for the morning and evenings.
The first room allocated was a good size single and the upgrade that you had was for a twin sea view so hopefully you enjoyed the sea view.
The hotel is situated overlooking Porthminster beach and ideally situated for the town and the bus and train services alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    199
    101
    40
    34
See reviews for
61
307
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago, returned in February and again in April.
Caroline has been there quite a few years and has a passion for running the hotel to it's best.
Nothing is too much trouble.
The food was good and well presented
The rooms comfortable and clean but in need of updating
Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Booked to return before I left.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view or premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Your review title says exactly what we aim to achieve here at St Ives Bay Hotel. Its good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning.
Its great to hear that over the years and training Caroline has listened to my advise.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro Cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I decided we deserved a treat and booked for the special break weekend. We arrived on Friday afternoon, were met by friendly and helpful staff, parked the car and started to relax. Our room was in the original part of the hotel and was certainly 'tired' but had everything in it one needed. The water was always hot and the room was quiet. We imagined that in the '70s we would have had one of the first en suite rooms advertised. It suited our needs well. The staff were exceptional in their friendly efficiency - nothing was too much trouble. The food was more than acceptable, and was served hot and quickly. The hotel is in an ideal situation for a walk into town - for years we had promised ourselves a stay there without worrying about timed car parking and the hotel car park did just that. Would we return - certainly. Next time we will treat ourselves to an upgrade with a sea view, maybe. But then, we live in Cornwall and can see the sea every day.
Thank you everyone at St Ives Bay Hotel - you treated us well.

Room Tip: Didn't see newer rooms but obviously they will be more modern. Won't have any more faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coral P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your favourable review. Cornwall is a lovely place to live and even have that special treat for a weekend away to relax and soak up the sunshine.
The hotel is in prime position in St Ives with great veiws overlooking Porthminster Beach.
The hotel has had some refurbishment and the company are looking to continue this towards the end of this year or beginning of next.
If you decide you would like another short break away give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Arrived from yorkshire after a long but pleasant journey with our driver michael who was a jordie and very friendly and accomadating. Our room was small and at the rear of the hotel room 308, but newly painted with flat screen tv and crisp white bedding the bed was a bit hard but you cant have everything,meals were fine and would definately return if we can spot another bargain, hotel staff were curtious and we were told more of the hotel will be refurbished in the future.Anyone complaining must seriously hav a problem, as for the price and location it was a bargain thanks shearings.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffielder48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I must say that I agree with you when you say that the break was value for money. Shearings often have special deals so keep an eye out for those. Maybe you would like to try another Bay hotel in the future, there are many to chose from around England, Scotland and Wales.
The newly refurbished rooms are lovely and you are right when you say that the company are hoping to do more towards the end of this year or beginning of next.
The new rooms have all new furniture and fittings and are being well received.
So sit back relax and enjoy your next Shearings excursion and thanks for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was just a over night stay ,met by a very friendly happy receptionist. We were very surprised as we got just what we wanted a nice room with a fantastic view. For what you pay and get is very good value for money! St Ives can do you fantastic bed and breakfast places at double the money hotels as well but this hotel is well situated for the money! The room was yes small but the bed was comfortable best pillows had for a while, lovely clean linen, towels fluffy, water hot, shower not the best but hot. 2 good chairs in the room, TV good, tea and coffee. The room is just for sleeping in after all. Breakfast ok, got a nice fried egg! It is a coaching hotel with very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: If you need to pay extra for sea view and high floor sit back and enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissPushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Shearings Bay Hotels like to offer value for money, comfortable accomodation and good hot food along with friendly staff.
It would appear that we have managed to tick the boxes required.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review if you are ever interested in coming to St Ives again please do come and stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The journey to Cornwall from Nottingham took an unbelievable 11 hours all together for which we were totally unprepared. The Hotel was very old and in need of refurbishment. Had to pay £42 supplement to get a sea view room. The meals were served in a dining room in which 23 people were squashed together in a very small space with tables the size of card tables to dine off. A very rushed and anxious waitress did her best to serve us and did a good job. There was minimum information given out - the driver only spoke a couple of times and this was to half-heartedly tell us of a couple of excursions, but with no details. We hardly saw him again. Coming back to Nottingham took 10 hours. Never again with Shearings!

Room Tip: Ask for more details when you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 831Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Our regular drivers are a font of local knowledge which they like to share with their passengers so that they can enjoy the delights of Cornwall, it appears from what you are saying that this was not the case in this instance.
Shearings do offer a range of breaks which include self drive in which you can either drive yourself, travel by train or other means to still enjoy the benefits of the hotel once you are there. The options are then available for you to join excursions at a nominated charge, so allowing you the freedom to plan your own holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Ives hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just spent weekend here,very tired hotel,only bonus was sea view and a balcony,although the room was so small we needed the extra space.staff were all very good ,but food choice and quality was very poor.thankful we didn't pay full price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwarneresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Room 12 and 32 the rooms with the balcony are well requested rooms and they certainly have lovely views to enjoy whilst sitting outside and enjoying a glass of wine or two.
The menus are varied and we would hope that something would appeal to all, most people enjoy the choices and quality so I am surprised to read your comments.
The staff do their utmost to ensure they help to create a warm, friendly atmosphere in the hotel for holiday enjoyment.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Property: Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing