We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shearings 'holiday' was more like endurance test!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shearings 'holiday' was more like endurance test!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The journey to Cornwall from Nottingham took an unbelievable 11 hours all together for which we were totally unprepared. The Hotel was very old and in need of refurbishment. Had to pay £42 supplement to get a sea view room. The meals were served in a dining room in which 23 people were squashed together in a very small space with tables the size of card tables to dine off. A very rushed and anxious waitress did her best to serve us and did a good job. There was minimum information given out - the driver only spoke a couple of times and this was to half-heartedly tell us of a couple of excursions, but with no details. We hardly saw him again. Coming back to Nottingham took 10 hours. Never again with Shearings!

Room Tip: Ask for more details when you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 831Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Our regular drivers are a font of local knowledge which they like to share with their passengers so that they can enjoy the delights of Cornwall, it appears from what you are saying that this was not the case in this instance.
Shearings do offer a range of breaks which include self drive in which you can either drive yourself, travel by train or other means to still enjoy the benefits of the hotel once you are there. The options are then available for you to join excursions at a nominated charge, so allowing you the freedom to plan your own holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    207
    107
    49
    38
See reviews for
64
327
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just spent weekend here,very tired hotel,only bonus was sea view and a balcony,although the room was so small we needed the extra space.staff were all very good ,but food choice and quality was very poor.thankful we didn't pay full price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwarneresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Room 12 and 32 the rooms with the balcony are well requested rooms and they certainly have lovely views to enjoy whilst sitting outside and enjoying a glass of wine or two.
The menus are varied and we would hope that something would appeal to all, most people enjoy the choices and quality so I am surprised to read your comments.
The staff do their utmost to ensure they help to create a warm, friendly atmosphere in the hotel for holiday enjoyment.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

just stayed at this hotel with shearings holidays for 5 days VERY VERY DISSAPOINTED this hotel desperatley needs cleaning and refurbishing the room we stayed in was quite small and very cold the bathroom was also small with an unstable toilet the shower cubicle wasTINY the water did not spray out very good, the bed and pillows were hard and uncomfortable causing me to have FOUR VERY UNCOMFORTABLE nights sleep the window frames are filthy with tissues shoved in to try to stop the draught they should replaced with double glazing the carpet was full of stains half of the hotel does not have a lift and because coach holidays in general attract a lot of elderley people i found this totaly disgusting i had to change rooms to a ground floor because i can't manage steps we requested when booking for a table for two but when we entered the dinning room was shown to a table for four with two other people sitting there when i told the waitress we had requested a table for ourselves she put us on a tiny table up a corner and said there wasn't another one available needless to say we chose to eat our meals elsewhere. We were VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED after travelling such a long way with this SHEARINGS holiday if this is the standards they keep we will not be booking another holiday with them

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnfaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
The hotel has two sides to it, with the lift serving one side and three floors, reception side has two floors and is not served with a lift. You said that you were moved to a ground floor room and this would have been done to try to make your stay a more comfortable one. The fact that we did this shows that we can be approached so if the other issues such as pillows were raised we would have done our best to resolve the situation.
It is good hear that the dining room staff were helpful in arranging a table for two. We have many requests and we try to accommodate as many as we possibly can.
The company currently have a rolling plan on refurbishing throughout the estate and we have had 16 rooms redecorated here this January and the plan is to continue with this at the end of this year or the beginning of next.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Ives hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here one Sunday eve after a last min idea to get away! We got the room cheap from late rooms (half price £50 instead of £100). The room was a good size and clean, the only gripe we had was no where near enough coffee/tea for us in the room and we had to ask for more. The bar area was nice and was open til quite late which was handy for us!

Next morning there was a fire alarm which for us was fine but I can see with the amount of stairs could be tricky for the more regular clientele! Breakfast was good but our waitress was a tad abrupt over nothing ( we used a plate from the adjoining table oh no lock us up!)

All in all a nice hotel, not for our age group, but did the job, was clean and comfy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kernowanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Its good to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us. It is never a problem to aquire more teas and coffees from the reception for your room.
The fact that the alarm was activated and everyone was safe is of prime importance to us.
There are many Bay and Coast and Country hotels within the group so why not give one of them a try when planning your next break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was the 2nd hotel this weekend of Shearings that we have stayed in and I don't think we will be staying in one of theirs again after the last two days.
This one in st Ives was clean also like the other one we stayed in but it most deffenetly needs an up grand fast as you can see from the pictures ,the food was fine but a bit more of it wouldn't go a miss the view was brilliant from our room you couldn't fault that..shame about the room .

Room Tip: Can't comment on other rooms but ours most deffenetly needs an upgrade fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
The company have currently a programme of refurbishment which meant that we had 16 bedrooms decorated in January this year. This plan is covering the whole estate and hopefully either towards the end of this year or beginning of next we will have further works completed.
We always hope that the portion sizes are good however if you wish to have an extra portion of anything it is not a problem to arrange just ask the dining room staff.
The views overlooking the St Ives Bay are stunning whatever the season.
If you would like to give St Ives and the hotel another stay then please call the hotel and it maybe possible to allocate a newly refurbished room so that you can see for yourself the progress being made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked the hotel direct, but was given our laterooms rate we had found online. When we arrived we were actually given a superior room with sea views. Really lovely, clean and comfortable with amazing views. Great deal which included breakfast and parking. Can't complain. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
The superior rooms have fantastic views over the bay I do agree. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have some super deals on at the moment so if you ever fancy a trip to St Ives or any of the Shearings Bay or Coast and Country Hotels give the hotels a direct call.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for three nights at Easter in room 213 overlooking the beach. This is the fourth Shearings hotel we've stayed at on a self-drive basis.
On arrival the reception was absolutely brilliant and more than made up for the slightly cool hotel which really did warm up once the northerly wind changed direction. In fact our room got quite warm and sunny.
Room 213 had a nicely refitted bathroom and the view from the room just perfect. The decor was very acceptable, furniture quite comfortable (although the bed could have been a bit better) and overall very clean. Sit by the window and watch the world go by...
The food was good with a wide choice and the portion size quite acceptable. The waiting staff was attentive, polite and very efficient and are to be strongly congratulated for their efforts.
We shared a table with another couple which very much enhanced our stay (thanks David & Mary). We didn't stay in the hotel for evening entertainment but preferred the local pub (The Sloop) although we recognise the value of on-site entertainment for the not so young or mobile.
Overall the hotel was a little dated but the staff and general ambience made for a great stay and we reckon it was good value for money compared to other places.The location was excellent. If you look hard enough there's always something to complain about - nothing's perfect but we'd stay again for sure....and we also know the fire alarm system and staff training for such emergencies is excellent as a heater below a sensor caused the alarm to function and the hotel to be evacuated at about 11pm all in a very controlled manner. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room. Avoid back of hotel rooms as the views are often ugly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 228peterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We always like to make people feel at home as soon as they arrive and we will walk you round the hotel so that you are familiar with everything. The view from the sea view rooms is stunning I do agree and you are right that when the wind changed direction it helps us to keep the warmth in.
It was good to hear that you made some new friends that you shared the dining table with, it is possible to have a table for two if you wish.
Health and Safety , fire safety is of paramount importance and all staff are trained in emergency procedures which you hope you will not need to use, but when you do you do to the best of your ability. The important thing is that everyone is safe.
It will be great to welcome you back to St Ives Bay and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Property: Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing