We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average just about describes the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We usually pay for an upgraded room but we asked for a sea view room and could only get a standard one (must have booked too late to get a superior). The room was OK but the en suite was tiny and a bit smelly. I'm only small but felt extremely cramped in the shower. The TV was very small, one of the old 14" screen types.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the town downhill but there is a fairly steep walk back up for part of the way. It didn't bother us as we're regular walkers but could be difficult for anyone not so good at hills.

The food on offer varied, the breakfasts were always hot and tasty, but a couple of the dinners were pretty poor - I had plaice the first night and it was more skin than fish - we both had steak pie on the last night...avoid this at all costs! The rest of the dinners were OK.

We didn't see any of the entertainment so can't comment on that.

The staff were friendly and efficient.

On the whole the hotel could do with a bit of a makeover, it was comfortable but we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a premier or superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trippie3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 571 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

It is with a heavy heart that I write this review. I have been on a few Shearings holidays and always find that the sticking point is the quality of accommodationa and food offered. Fortunately we were out most days on their trips which are truly informative and varied. The coach journey down, the driver, the included and optional excursions are all excellent which is why I like to go on at least one of these types of holiday per year. The standard of the Shearings owned hotel does leave something to be desired. We did have a lovely view of Porthminster beach and could hear the waves lapping on the beach, but the room itself was quite cramped. The housekeeping of the room left something to be desired, the making of the bed meant that the duvet was thrown over. The sheet underneath was never straightened in the 7 days we were there so we did that ourselves.
The restaurant had lovely views (again over the beach, but the food on offer was quite basic) The vegetarians only had one choice per meal - take or leave it - and I always checked the cleanliness of the glasses and cereal bowls in the morning. This hotel definately needs to get it's housekeeping and catering in order. The serving staff were excellent, Alba, our waitress was so good, it was a shame she was going back home to Spain after our week as she was brilliant and made you feel special.
I have been in this trade myself for 35+ years and so know what to look for, and I still cannot understand why the manager was allowed to go on holiday the day after we got there, during what must be considered to be the busiest period of the holiday season - unbelievable!!

Room Tip: I didn't see the upgraded rooms but perhaps this would be the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LiverpoolL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your excursions to what can only be described as beautiful scenic areas of natural beaty. The menu has many choices, however anyone with special diets can always see the staff to make arrangements for their meals as looking at the menu displayed in the morning. The hotel is busy all year round so holidays for staff are taken throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My son and i have just returned from our holiday to st ives and cannot praise shearings highly enough,i don't drive and i'm a single parent so this type of holiday is perfect for us,we upgraded to a sea view room which was definitely worth it, yes , the hotel is a little tired in places but, our room was spotless, and cleaned on a regular basis, the food was excellent and even managed to feed my very fussy teenager,our driver kevin was fantastic throughout the drive there and back and also on the trips out,hotel staff were all lovely and very professional and i'm sure would have dealt with any problems should we have had any,st ives is simply stunning and you can't fault the perfect location of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marsha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

Its great to hear that we can appeal to a range of ages. The point that you made about having a sea view room is right, the views are stunning. Look out for the many special offers that Shearings have to offer in either a Bay or Coast and Country Hotel. However if you decide to come and visit us again you will be more than welcome, give us a call and we can book the whole holiday from coach to room. Thanks agsin for your comments. Look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

hotel staff very poor except our waitress laura she has only been there for 1 month and was excellent. rooms very dated we tried 3 different rooms 1st room smelt very damp, 2nd room so dated no shower which we ask for but had a very dated avocardo bathroom suite that say's it all,3rd room bathroom ok bedroom very very very poor rooms not cleaned that well bed very bad and the cleaner does'nt no how to make it.put our old towels on floor to be changed but put back on airer.on arrival after tryng to sort out better rooms the assistant manager said you get what you pay for' i did'nt mind but we paid good money for a rubbish hotel which is very badly run.

Room Tip: don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steven932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I had a fantasic 8 days holiday in St. Ives, Cornwall from 7th - 14th August 2010 even after a 10.5 hours drive to get there and back to London! I really enjoyed the included and optional excusions around Cornwall. The tour driver, Chris Williams in the coach .fleet #616 was really brilliant with the knowledge and insight around Cornwall. The St. Ives Bay Hotel was a wonderful place to stay in. Great accommodation with room with a sea room which was brilliant and the hospitaility and food was excellent. I would love to return back to Cornwall one day, maybe to see other parts of county i've also not been before like Newquay. Thank-you once again for a pleasant and wonderful holiday Shearings!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frubies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

Its great to hear that St Ives lived up to the wow factor after your journey from London. I will pass your comments on to Chris, he is very knowledgable and has pride in his home county. It seems that he has enabled you to have a love of the area too. If you decide that you would like to visit Newquay then why not try the Bay Beresford Hotel where you will have some stunning views overlooking Tolcarne beach. Enjoy whatever you decide to do and hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Having previously stayed at a Shearings Hotel (Charlecote Pheasant at Strattford) we thought we would take a Cornish Break. Booking on the web all seemed well, having paid nearly £700 for a four day break in an 'upgraded Superior Room with sea view'. On arrival had to wait nearly 20 minutes at reception before someone turned up. Information very sparse. The SUPERIOR Room very disapointing and not very clean, housekeeping very poor, dead flies on the window cill in room for our stay there, first morning room service almost non existant as the bed not made just the over cover pulled up on the bed (still dead flies). Food in restraunt not ot bad but the choice limited unless you paid excess charge for a lot of the courses. Had to leave after two days due to home problem and staff did not seem to care. Access to this Hotel is not very good especially for Elderly or Disabled People, Hotel spread of many different levels making moving around quite difficult. I'm affraid that the quality of this Hotel is no where near our previous experience and will definitely NOT be returning to this one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pehewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Starting from the manager CAROLINE and finishing with the OCEAN BEACH VIEW... this hotel is simply THE BEST in ST IVES!!! I have been several times over there but since I found this hotel and the rest of the staff like Mark, Alba, Natisha, Darrel, etc... I thought what is the point to look for another place... location is perfect as it is within walking distance to everything... I really hope you do not make the to go somewhere else!!! See you very soon MANUEL and rest family

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarlettoMazzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

Its always a pleasure to welcome back regular guests, come back again and see the changes that we have made, hopefully you will like them. We value feedback from customers old and new. Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 21 in St Ives
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $64 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing