We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Place, Fabulous Views”
Review of Shun Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shun Lee House
Ranked #60 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Place, Fabulous Views”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay three nights at Shun Lee House. The reception and hospitality offered by Terry and Paul was superb and our room was spacious, well appointed and the view over the water to St Ives was fabulous. The location is handy as you can walk into St Ives in about 10 minutes which we did several times. A great variety of good restaurants are within walking distance and returning by taxi is easy.

The breakfast offering and menu is substantial and very lovely. Served in a bright, airy room with the owners attending and able to answer questions or provide suggestions for the days events. Driving to sites away from St Ives is aided by being slightly out of the busy center of town.

A glass of wine in the lounge area prior to going for dinner was very pleasant and easy to arrange.

The Shun Lee was really a "step above" and a delightful "home" for us! Thanks to Terry and Paul for making this a memorable visit to St Ives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have not been able to get down to St. Ives and Shun Lee for a while but the reception I received from Terry and Paul was so warm.
As before, I was looked after very professionally and my room, the 'Raffles' Suite, was as welcoming and spotless as always. The bed has to be the most comfortable I have ever slept in!
Breakfasts, cooked by Paul, were memorable for all the best reasons and so much choice.
A wonderful stay and I am already looking forward to to my next visit to 'Shun Lee'.

Room Tip: The 'Raffles' Suite does have a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just returned from yet another wonderful stay at Shunlee. I think it must have been the coldest days St.Ives had ever experienced, but the welcome was warm and so was the house, breakfast as ever delicious and so much choice. Thanks again boys keep up the good work.
Peter
Folkestone

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank retepkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Paul and Terry when we visited St Ives because of the wonderful reviews we read on Tripadvisor. We were in no way disappointed. They were the warmest of hosts and from the moment we met them we felt at home. The room was spotlessly clean with every amenity thought of. A lovely vase of fresh yellow roses and magazines from the area were a nice touch. The bathroom, spacious and spotless, contained every form of smellies, fluffy white towels and bathrobes to make us feel spoilt. The breakfasts were like nothing I have ever seen.....all fresh and deliciously cooked by Paul ... and such a choice....we could not eat all of it. I cant say enough about this B+B.We lacked for nothing and if I were to go to Cornwall again, I would most certainly want to stay with them. They recommended wonderful restaurants, phoned and made our reservations... and a nice touch was for them to offer to take us in their car, on our first night. Do hope to see you again sometime. (The two little dogs were an absolute delight too) A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Both rooms on offer have superb views over the bay........
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sassabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at this bed and breakfast in the middle of August. What can be said, Paul and Terry are amazing hosts, from the minute of a arriving we were greated with smiles and a glass of wine each. They can happilly recommmend various places to eat within the bay of St. Ives all of which sold mint food. Demelza and Ellie are also a welcoming hosts too!

Hosts are extremely accomadating even to the where they arranged for a vegetarian breakfasts at the last minute!! Breakfasts are the best ive had at any hotel ive stayed at before. the attention to detail they show is amazing.After seeing that one of us had not eaten the cruts from the toast the next day toast arrived with the crusts cut off!! I found that these extra little touches really help to make this place one of the nicest places we have ever stayed.

The room suite (Raffles) we stayed in was amazing, looking out of both windows you have the most amazing views of St Ives Bay and the Atlatic Ocean. The amenities in the room are second to none, all kinds of coffee, hot chocolate, tea, herbal teas and Horlics. Fresh bottled water was always replaced every day next to the beds and rooms were kept spotlessely. You are literally a fiveminute walk from the beach.

On the last day, we were treated to a tour of there beautiful house which is infinatly impressive.

All in all a really amazing stay where i would return at the drop of a hat and would recommend to everyone. Worth every penny!!!!!

Thanks to Paul and Terry for the wonderful stay, thanks to Demelza and Ellie for the company in the morning!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyleofsalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you feel the need to be spoilt rotten, then this is the place.
We have stayed in 5 star hotels around the world and none have hit the standards of Paul & Terry at Shun Lee.The most attentive hosts who immediately welcome you into their luxurious home with amazing picture postcard views.
Huge dual aspect bedroom and ensuite bathroom and like the rest of the house, furnished to the highest of standards.Breakfast menu superb.Thanks Paul all you cooked us was first class. Terry advised us of good restaurants and places to visit and being only a beautiful 15 minute walk to the town meant we could leave the car behind. Immaculately clean and tidy, fluffy bath robes, quality toiletries supplied. We had the best anniversary treat ever. Thanks again, both of you. Again, I must say Unsurpassable. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaynebaccoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We chose this from the reviews on Tripadvisor & because of the location so we had high expectations. These were definitely surpassed. A very warm welcome, a beautiful room that was scrupulously clean, very well equipped & spacious with stunning views. The bed was the best I have ever slept in. Paul & Terry are first class hosts & it was more like staying with friends. The breakfast choice was excellent & superbly cooked & presented. We stayed for a week & everything was perfect every day - we could have stayed much longer! We can't understand why this isn't rated number one in St. Ives, as it would be hard to find better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coastwalkers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#2 of 7 in Carbis Bay
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
#73 of 102 in St Ives
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 102 in St Ives
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
#43 of 102 in St Ives
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maristow Guest Accomodation
Maristow Guest Accomodation
#57 of 102 in St Ives
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shun Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shun Lee House

Property: Shun Lee House
Address: Shun Lee Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shun Lee House is situated on Porthminster Point overlooking the scenic St. Ives bay with absolutely stunning views of the harbor. We offer two suites to ensure you will receive personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shun Lee House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing