We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ideal stay - comfortable & convenient”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
One or our visitors!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave L
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ideal stay - comfortable & convenient”
Reviewed April 20, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

the house was well situated, close to the shop & site restaurant / bar but still quiet and not overlooked.
the house is warm and equipped with everything you could need for your stay, all spotlessly clean.
we would definitely recommend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2018
Hi David.
It was a pleasure meeting you both. Thank you for looking after my place, I couldn’t believe how little I had to do to get the place ready for my next guests. Very much appreciated.
Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherh6...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super host!”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Excellent communication with the owner, Chris, giving peace of mind regarding the booking of the accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Chris was very friendly and helpful, the lodge was clean, cozy and comfy and had everything you needed. St Ives is beautiful, enjoyed tresco and Trebar gardens.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnandsa...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a short stay here for a family wedding and we loved it! Chris, the owner was great and really helpful!
The house was clean and comfortable and had everything we could need!
Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you all. I would recommend you to others hosts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. I wouldn't hesitate recommending you to other hosts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anthony M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Woodland Retreat for one week and we loved it. We instantly felt at home and comfortable in this chalet. The owner was very helpful and friendly, he met us at the chalet on day one to show us round. The chalet was spotlessly clean and all of the chalet facilities were great and easy to use (cooking, shower, heating)
This is a great base to explore nearby St Ives and it's wonderful beaches, our favourite beach was Porthmeor Beach. Despite the wet weather on a couple of the days, there was still lots to do and on returning to the chalet in the evenings, it was very quick to warm up. We would definitely return to this chalet for another holiday.
Thank you Chris for a wonderful week and it's nice to see an owner who takes pride in his property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
Thank you, Anthony, for your wonderful review. It's nice to be appreciated as I try hard to get it right. Anthony and his family were perfect guests who I'd highly recommend and would welcome back any time. Look forward to meeting you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindaM407...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chalet very good”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The chalet -Woodland Retreat- was very good. It was well kitted out and very clean, Chris the owner certainly looks after the chalet really well
Regular buses into St Ives etc. from the holiday village, check the facilities on the site before buying a pass to use them, the changing rooms in the swimming pool are not very good.
We had to buy the pass - (£12 each) before we could view the facilities, because the chalet is privately owned. Several days into the holiday I asked for a refund as we had not used the facilities, but was refused. We were given several reasons as to why we could not be refunded.
The manager told me it was normal procedure to sell guests passes before they could view the facilities, and refunds would not be given if they did not use them?
There is no system in place to show the passes are being used.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
I'm afraid the site policy on passes is completely out of my control and hope this is the only reason I've been given my worse rating so far.
I'd like to thank Linda for respecting my place and keeping it clean and tidy and the very positive remarks left in my visitors book and hope this hasn't deterred her from staying in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing