We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food - Well worth a visit”
Review of Seafood Cafe

Seafood Cafe
Ranked #24 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stourport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food - Well worth a visit”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We came here on the last night of our holiday stay , We had decided on the Rum and Crabbe but the menu when closely looked wasn't as diverse as the Sea food Cafe.. We went there roughly at 1800-1900 and managed to get seated straight away ( had the last table for 2) . I would recommend booking as it was busy and we did see people waiting for tables..

The place is clean tidy and well presented..

Now it has been mentioned about the service , now I cant comment on those reviews only on my visit and I can happily say the service was quick, polite and informative about the food.

We had 2 starters and the fish platter for 2 ...now it being a seafood restaurant and being a good one the food isn't super dear but its not cheap either - with a bottle of water and a soft drink the total came to about £47.00.

The food was presented bistro style on fancy plates and presented well... we had the Monkfish with Thai sauce and new potatoes.. this was frankly amazing... lovely lovely food... the chilli jam sauce i'd happily pay for a jar myself.. there was about 3 fillets and 2 prawn skewers and enough potatoes to warrant the £30.00 cost.

We decided against the desert for no reason other than we simply didn't want one - but they did look very nice.
I'd love to go back to this restaurant and will do so when I'm back in St.Ives next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abusivemango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    990
    566
    166
    76
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful tasty dishes”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We ate there twice during our week's stay in St Ives and thoroughly enjoyed our meals.The Hake with Parmesan, bacon and pesto sauce was delicious and followed by the most wonderful fruit crumble and custard I have ever tasted (and I've tasted a lot!). Everything was beautifully presented and the staff were polite and helpful. Try the cider for a drink - excellent. The chef is to be congratulated........If we return to St Ives we will definitely eat there again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Still excellent!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We've been coming here on and off for years, with family, friends and as couple. Started going to the Loft (Terrace?), but that was closed. So glad we came back here. Great location in the middle of the high street. Smiling efficient service and the freshest fish ever. Clean, bright interior. Unpretentious good stuff. (But reprint your menus, they look a little tired.)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilverFoxWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A quick, tasty, fishy lunch”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good food, reasonably priced and good service - a very pleasant ambience in this busy seaside town. We had items from the starter menu for our lunch and portion size was just right for us - but so much bread came with the olive oil and balsamic vinegar that I asked for it to be wrapped so that I could bring it home. This was done without an eyelid being batted!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piglet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“My kind of place”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Whilst on holiday in Cornwall we stopped at this restaurant for lunch. It looked inviting from the outside and we were not disappointed. Staff were very efficient and food was very fresh. I had mussels and fries and my husband had seafood pasta. I had fruit crumble and custard for dessert which was extremely well presented and possibly the tastiest dessert I have ever had! Only wish I lived closer to Cornwall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Seafood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing